12 Of 18 Telangana Congress Lawmakers Join KCR

TRS president K Chandrasekhar Rao
TRS president K Chandrasekhar Rao

12 of Congress 18 Telangana legislators have joined Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao’s party, the TRS. State leaders of the Congress – the handful that are keen to remain with it – said that the Chief Minister a.k.a. KCR, is “buying” Congress lawmakers.

But the Congress rebels said they’re inspired by nothing more than KCR’s vision. “All the 12 members support the leadership of Chief Minister KCR and requested to work with him. We gave a representation to the Speaker and urged him to merge us with the TRS party,” said Gandra Venkata Ramana Reddy.

The Congress has been lurching from one crisis to another since its disastrous performance in the general election which saw it collating just 52 seats across the country. The cause of at least part of that epic fail – infighting – has exponentially increased in states like Punjab and Rajasthan.

In Telangana, however, the party won three of 17 Lok Sabha seats, which was seen as a “revival” of its fortunes in the southern state given that just months ago, it fared abysmally in the state election which KCR won easily.