Amit Shah meets injured ITBP personnel of Pahalgam bus accident

By Shefali Kohli -- August 20, 2022 2:20 pm -- Updated:August 20, 2022 2:20 pm

New Delhi [India], August 20: In a major update about Jammu and Kashmir’s Pahalgam bus accident which took place on August 16, Union Home Minister Amit Shah paid visit to injured ITBP personnel admitted at AIIMS Delhi.

On his visit to AIIMS, Amit Shah enquired about the health condition of the ITBP personnel.


Also Read | Flash floods near Vaishno Devi temple, movement of devotees halted

The three critically injured were admitted to the Jai Prakash Narayan Apex Trauma Centre, AIIMS, New Delhi after being shifted from Srinagar through special Air Ambulances.

The three critically injured ITBP personnel has been identified as Constables Balwant Singh, Tsewang Dorje, and Bablu Kumar.

The health condition of Balwant is reportedly critical and he is still under observation in the ICU, while the other two personnel are being recovered.


On his visit to the hospital, doctors briefed Amit Shah about the health condition of the jawans and all the medical procedure to be followed in their treatment.

The senior officials of the ITBP also briefed the Home Minister about the health condition of the injured and he wished a speedy recovery of the injured personnel.

Meanwhile, tragic bus accident took place on August 16 wherein a  bus carrying 37 ITBP personnel and two Jammu and Kashmir policemen skidded off a road and fell into a riverbed in Pahalgam. As per reports, the incident took place after the breaks of the vehicle failed and it went out of control.


Also Read | Cloudburst hits Uttarakhand's Dehradun, SDRF swings into action

As many as seven ITBP personnel lost their lives in the accident. The injured have been airlifted to Srinagar's Army hospital. The deceased ITBP personnel were identified as head constable Dula Singh (Taran Taran, Punjab); constable Abhiraj (Lakhisarai, Bihar); constable Amit K (Etah, UP); constable D Raj Shekhar (Kadapa, Andhra Pradesh); constable Subhash C Bairwal (Sikar Rajasthan); constable Dinesh Bohra (Pithoragarh, Uttarakhand) and constable Sandeep Kumar from Jammu.

-PTC News with ANI inputs

  • Share