Assembly Elections 2019: ECI announces ban on exit polls from 7am to 6:30 pm on Oct 21

elecion commission

The Election Commission of India (ECI), on Tuesday, announced a ban on exit polls from 7 am to 6:30 pm during Assembly elections in Haryana and Maharashtra and by-elections for 51 assembly constituencies of 17 states on October 21.

ECI spokesperson Sheyphali Sharan tweeted, “General Elections to the LAs of Haryana & Maharashtra and by-elections to 51 Assembly Constituencies of 17 States & 23-Samastipur (SC) PC in Bihar & 45-Satara PC in Maharashtra to be held simultaneously – Ban on EXIT POLL from 7 am to 6.30 pm on 21st October.”

In another tweet, Sharan informed that displaying any election material, including results of any opinion poll or any poll survey in any electronic media is prohibited during the 48-hour period ending with the hours fixed for conclusion of polls in the respective polling areas.

On the issue of advertisements, she said, “No political party or candidate to publish any advertisement in print media on the day of poll & one day prior to poll in Haryana & Maharashtra, i.e. 20th & 21st October, unless contents are got pre-certified from Media Certification & Monitoring Committee.”

Also, Read | Haryana Assembly Elections: BJP candidate Sonali Phogat apologizes for her controversial remark

Elections to the 90-member Haryana Assembly will be held on October 21, along with the 288-member Maharashtra Assembly and results will be declared on October 24. The 17 states going to polls include Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Meghalaya, Odisha, Puducherry, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, and Uttar Pradesh.

-PTC News