Basketball: National Championships return to Ludhiana

Basketball: National Championships return to Ludhiana
Basketball: National Championships return to Ludhiana

The industrial town of Ludhiana has added yet another feather to its distinguished cap. Tomorrow when the 70th National Basketball Championship gets underway at Guru Nanak Stadium, Ludhiana becomes the only city in the country to hold the National Championship for ninth time since the inception of the Basketball Federation of India in 1951. The last time Ludhiana held the National championship was in 2012-2013.

It may be a mere coincidence that the Championship has come to Ludhiana when the world is celebrating the 550th Parkash Purb of Sri Guru Nanak Dev Ji at a stadium named after him. Ludhiana also had the distinction in this part of the counry to have an exclusive flood lit basketball stadium. A regular coaching centre or Basketball Academy in Ludhiana  has produced several international and national level players. Ludhiana has of late earned the  reputation of basketball nursery of the country.

Competitions started in the 70th Senior National Basketball Championship for men and women at 7:30 am on Saturday.

The opening ceremony will take place at 3 pm, that will be attended among other by senior functionaries of the Basketball Federation of India, including its President, Mr K. Govindaraj, and Secretary General, Mr Chander Mukhi Sharma, followed by the conduct of the matches  Mr Rakesh Agarwal, Commissioner of police and Chairman of the Organizing Committee, along with other members of the committee visited the stadium to inspect the arrangements and was staisfied with all four basketball courts and other arrangements. made for the tournament.

Kings XI Punjab Team review: KL Rahul gets the best combination for KXIP ever [IPL 2020]

Punjab  will Karnataka and Madhya Pradesh in the opening matches in the men’s  and women’s sections,  respectively. A total of 23 games will take place on all 4 four courts on Saturday, the opening day. A total of 53 teams will be participating in the championship, Men and women  teams are divided into 6 pools and each pool  has a minimum 3 teams.

Punjab Men and Women team are as follows

Men                                                                                       Women

No. Name No. Name
1. Talwinderjit Singh Sahi – The most experienced player of India will lead the Punjab Men team at the National’s 1. Anmolpreet Kaur – The most experienced & current player of India will lead the Punjab Women team at the National’s
Other Members of the team are as follows:- Other Members of the team are as follows:-
2. Jagdeep Singh Bains 2. Sakshi Sharma
3. Amjyot Singh Gill 3. Komalpreet Kaur
4.  Amritpal Singh Mann 4. Gagandeep Kaur
5 Arshpreet Singh Bhullar 5 Rajandeep Kaur
6. Princepal Singh 6. Samriti
7. Nitesh Kumar 7. Jagroop Kaur
8.  Rajbir Singh 8. Kirandeep Kaur
9. Gurbaj Singh Sandhu 9. Shabnam
10. Anmolpreet Singh 10. Neelam
11 Gurjinder Singh 11 Sukhmandeep Kaur
12. Tejinder Pal Singh 12. Harsimran Kaur
13 Mr. Rajinder Singh Bija – Coach 13 Mr. Devinder Pal Singh – Coach
14 Mr. Gurkirpal Singh Dhillon – Coach 14 Ms Saloni – Coach
15 Mr. Devinder Pal Singh – Manager 15 Mr. Rajinder Singh Bija – Manager


-PTC News