Elections 2022: ECI allows mediapersons to vote through postal ballot

By Shgun S -- January 16, 2022 5:56 pm -- Updated:January 16, 2022 6:00 pm

The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Sunday allowed the mediapersons authorised by the poll body to exercise their franchise using the postal ballot facility, as per a release by the Office of Chief Electoral Officer, Punjab.

Earlier, the Commission had authorised voters aged 80 and above, those with disabilities (more than 40%), and Covid-19 positive patients to vote via postal ballot. This is in addition to the already existing Absentee Voters categories, who will be unable to vote in the current election for the Legislative Assembly of Punjab due to being on duty on election day.

According to notification by ECI, Food Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs, Food Corporation of India, All India Radio, Doordarshan, Post and Telegraph, Railways, BSNL, Power, Health, Fire Services, and Civil Aviation are among the essential service voters who can use the postal ballot facility if they are on duty.

Also Read | India logs 2,71,202 fresh Covid-19 cases, positivity rate at 16.28 pc

During the press conference, mediapersons had raised a demand with Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Punjab Dr S Karuna Raju to include them in the Absentee Voters category so that they can vote by using the postal ballot facility.

Dr Raju explained that any absentee voter who wishes to vote by postal ballot must submit an application in Form-12D to the Returning Officer with the required information and have the application verified by the Nodal Officer appointed by the organisation concerned.

Such applications for postal ballots shall be submitted to the RO during the period from the date of announcement of election to five days following the date of notification of the election concerned.

He underlined that voters who choose the postal ballot option will not be able to vote in person at a polling station.

Meanwhile, in each constituency, the Postal Voting Centre will be open for up to three days before the voting day set for that constituency. The PVC will be open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. on each of the three days.

On February 14, Punjab Assembly elections will be contested in a single phase with results being announced on March 10.

Also read | Covid-19: Study shows evidence of Omicron’s community transmission

-PTC News

  • Share