FIH Pro League 2020: Manpreet Singh to lead India

FIH Pro League 2020 , Manpreet Singh Hockey Captain , PTC News

Hockey India sprang no surprises as it named 20-member Indian squad for  the opening weekend of the FIH Hockey Pro League 2020. Led by experienced Manpreet Singh, the Indian team will have drag flicker Harmanpreet Singh as Vice Captain. Chinglensana Singh returns to the team  after a year-long hiatus due to injury; Sumit makes a comeback too after suffering a wrist injury during the FIH Men’s Series Final in June

India plays the World number 3 the Netherlands in its opening games on January 18 and 19 at Kalinga Stadium, Bhubaneshwar and has decided to put its best foot forward to make a good start.  Hockey fans can expect enticing play between the two teams who were last seen in action at the 2018 Men’s World Cup Quarter Final. 

Chief Coach Graham Reid’s team will see the return of experienced midfielder Chinglensana Singh Kangujam who has not been in competition since the 9th Hockey India Senior Men National Championship 2019 (A Division) in February where he led the Railways team to victory. He suffered an ankle fracture in the final that kept him out of action. Young gun Sumit too will make his comeback after he suffered a wrist injury in June during the FIH Men’s Series final where India beat South Africa.

The team which will be led by Manpreet Singh and dragflick sensation Harmanpreet Singh as Vice-Captain, includes PR Sreejesh, Krishan B Pathak, Gurinder Singh, Amit Rohidas, Surender Kumar and the experienced Birendra Lakra.  Dragflicker Rupinder Pal Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Nilakanta Sharma too have received a call-up. Striker Gurjant Singh has been rewarded with a place in the team for his commitment and hard-work shown in the National Coaching Camp. He will join SV Sunil, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Mandeep Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Gursahibjit Singh and Kothajit Singh Khadangbam.

“We have chosen a relatively experienced team to take on the Netherlands this weekend in Bhubaneswar. While Varun Kumar will be back in training this week after suffering a nerve injury during the Olympic Qualifiers, he wasn’t able to be considered for selection. We will however get a chance to see Chinglensana return to international competition after a full year out and Sumit returns after a 6 month hand injury. Both have been training well and are physically fit. Gurjant has also shown great form in training and has earned his spot back in the team,” stated Chief Coach Graham Reid.

India names 15-women squad for Women T20 World Cup 2020, Australia

Reid further expressed that it will be crucial to be sharp in the FIH Hockey Pro League as the team will be taking on the World’s best teams, including the Netherlands (18-19 January), Belgium (8-9 February), Australia (21-22 February). “It will be important to start strong and sharp in the Pro League with our first 3 encounters against the top 3 teams in the world. We will be focussing on getting our structures right and honing our set plays as preparation for our Olympic campaign.”

Indian Team:

  1. P R Sreejesh                                                                                
  2. Krishan Bahadur Pathak                                                        
  3. Harmanpreet Singh        (Vice Captain)                                                       
  4. Gurinder Singh                                                                       
  5. Amit Rohidas
  6. Surender Kumar
  7. Birendra Lakra
  8. Rupinder Pal Singh
  9. Manpreet Singh     (Captain)
  10. Vivek Sagar Prasad
  11. Chinglensana Singh
  12. Nilakanta Sharma
  13. Sumit
  14. Gurjant Singh
  15. S V Sunil
  16. Lalit Kumar Upadhyay
  17. Mandeep Singh
  18. Akashdeep Singh
  19. Gursahibjit Singh
  20. Kothajit Singh Khadangbam