FIH Series Finals: Rani to lead in Hiroshima

Midfielder Nisha to make debut in Hiroshima FIH Series Finals

FIH Series Finals: Rani to lead in Hiroshima
FIH Series Finals: Rani to lead in Hiroshima

Young midfielder Nisha will make her international debut in the prestigious FIH Series Finals for women to be  played at Hiroshima in Japan from June 15 to 23. She has been named a member of the 18-member Indian squad that will be led by experienced forward Rani Rampal. Goalkeeper Savita will be her deputy.

 India starts its campaign with a match against Uruguay on June 15. Other teams in Indian pool are Fiji, and Poland while the pool B will comprise of Asian games gold medalist and host Japan, Chile, Russia and Mexico.

Experienced goalkeeper Savita and Rajani Etimaru will guard India’s goal while defenders Deep Grace Ekka, Nisha, Gurjit Kaur, Salima Tete and Sunita Lakra have been named in the squad. Midfielders Monika, Nikki Pradhan, Lilima Minz, Neha Goyal and Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam have been called-up while the forward-line features Rani, Vandana Katariya, Navjot Kaur, Navneet Kaur, Lalremsiami and Jyoti.

“We have a good balanced team with youth and experienced players. Nisha is replacing injured Reena Khokar in the midfield and she has shown in training that she is worthy of the position and executes her role and sticks to the tasks as expected. She makes her International debut and I believe she will do well,” expressed Chief Coach Sjoerd Marijne about the team selected for the event.

Speaking about the team’s preparedness, Marijne said, “We have had good preparations, having played against different styles during our tour to Spain, Malaysia and Republic of Korea. We have done everything we could do to be well-prepared and now we will focus on getting off to a good start against Uruguay.”

Indian Team: 


1. Savita (Vice Captain)

2. Rajani Etimarpu


3. Deep Grace Ekka

4. Nisha

5. Gurjit Kaur

6. Salima Tete

7. Sunita Lakra


8. Monika

9. Nikki Pradhan

10. Lilima Minz

11. Neha Goyal

12. Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam


13. Rani (Captain)

14. Vandana Katariya

15. Navjot Kaur

16. Navneet Kaur

17. Lalremsiami

18. Jyoti