ICC launches Men's Cricket World Cup Super League

By Rajan Nath -- July 27, 2020 1:07 pm -- Updated:Feb 15, 2021

The International Cricket Council on Monday launched the inaugural ICC Men's Cricket World Cup Super League, which will get underway on July 30 in Southampton. The Super League will begin with a series between world champions England and Ireland.

The ICC said in a statement that in an order to bring context to the One-Day International (ODI) cricket, the Super League will determine qualification for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 with the top seven teams automatically booking their spot at the mega event in India.

The Super League will see each side play four home and four away three-match series. Meanwhile, Geoff Allardice, ICC General Manager, Cricket Operations, said that “We are delighted to get the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League underway with World Cup winners England against Ireland."

“The league will bring relevance and context to ODI cricket over the next three years, as a qualification for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 is at stake. The Super League gives cricket fans around the world even more reasons to watch as the drama of league cricket unfolds.”

ICC World Cup 2019: England defeat New Zealand in super over, lift maiden 50-over World Cup

What is the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League?

The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League is a road to the next Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 scheduled to be played in India between October to November.

ICC World Cup 2019: Will witness the maiden winner

Which teams are participating in the championship?

This is a 13-team tournament that features all 12 ICC Full Members and the Netherlands, who qualified by winning the 2015–17 ICC World Cricket League Championship.

Who will qualify for the 2023 World Cup?

The hosts India and the next seven highest-placed teams will qualify automatically for the 2023 World Cup.

Also Read | Kemar Roach becomes 9th West Indies bowler to enter 200-wickets club in Tests

What is the points system?

Each team will get 10 points for a win, 5 for a tie/no result/abandonment and 0 for a loss. The teams will be ranked as per the total points earned across the 8 series.

-PTC News

  • Share