Independence Day 2019: IAF Wing Commander Abhinandan Varthaman to be conferred with Vir Chakra award

IAF Wing Commander Abhinandan Varthaman
IAF Wing Commander Abhinandan Varthaman

Independence Day 2019: Indian Air Force’s IAF Wing Commander Abhinandan Varthaman is all set to be conferred with the Vir Chakra award, for his bravery during the Balakot Air Strike, in Pakistan.

Also, Indian Air Force’s Squadron Leader Minty Agarwal will also be conferred with Yudh Seva Medal for her role as a fighter controller during the February 27 Aerial conflict between India & Pakistan post-IAF airstrikes in Balakot. The announcements have come on the eve of Independence Day 2019, which is going to be celebrated on August 15.

IAF Wing Commander Abhinandan Varthaman shot down the Pakistani Fighter Jet F-16 on February 27, with his Mig-21 which was later hit during the fight. Further, he was captured by Pakistan for nearly three days and returned back to India on March 01, 2019 as a gesture of peace amid global pressure. The Balakot Air Strikes was the retaliatory action of India towards the heinous attack in the decades, i.e. Pulwama Attack, which took place on February 14, 2019.

Also Read: Forget PUBG! Indian Air Force releases IAF Mobile Game Teaser, launch date, details

The date is a black day for India, as 41 CRPF soldiers were martyred in a suicide attack plotted by Pakistan.

Likewise, Indian Army’s Sapper Prakash Jadhav of 1 Rashtriya Rifles (Mahar) will be conferred with Kirti Chakra (posthumously) on August 15, for his gallant role in operation in Jammu and Kashmir. Eight Army personnel to be conferred with Shaurya Chakra, five of them posthumously.

-PTC News