Indian team for Odisha World Cup Hockey named

Odisha World Cup Hockey
Indian team for Odisha World Cup Hockey named

Indian team for Odisha World Cup Hockey named

Manpreet Singh to lead India in Odisha World Cup,  Chinglensana Singh Kangujam named his deputy

Six players from the 2016 Gold Medal winning Junior World Cup  in the team

Mercurial midfielder Manpreet Singh has been chosen to lead India in the 2018 Odisha Hockey World Cup to be played in Bhubaneswar from November 28 as Hockey India on Thursday named the 18-member  team who will represent the hosts.

Also Read: FIFA World Cup 2018: As World Cup ends, Russia faces uncertain football legacy

The hosts start their campaign against South Africa on the opening day.

Veteran goalkeeper  PR Sreejesh and Krishan Bahadur Pathak will man the goal while Odisha’s experienced defender Birendra Lakra, makes a comeback into the team after missing out the Hero Asian Champions Trophy in Muscat last month.  He will be joined by fellow Odia Amit Rohidas, Surender Kumar, Kothajit Singh and 2016 Junior World Cup champion team members Harmanpreet Singh and  Varun Kumar to defend India’s fort. Three of them are specialized dragflickers.

Odisha World Cup Hockey
Odisha World Cup Hockey Punjab

Dragflicker Rupinderpal Singh could not make to the final 18. Another surprise omission is forward SV Sunil. Jarmanjeet Singh, who had a good tournament in Muscat, too, could not retain his place in the final team.

In the midfield besides dynamic Manpreet Singh, who played a pivotal role in India’s campaign as defending Champions at the Hero Asian Champions Trophy. Chinglensana Singh Kangujam along with young guns Sumit, Nilakanta Sharma also of the Junior World Cup team and Hardik Singh, who made his International debut last month, figure in the team.

The forward line will see the experienced Akashdeep Singh, Dilpreet Singh, Lalit Upadhyay and Junior World Cup winners Mandeep Singh and Simranjeet Singh.

India grouped in Pool C along with World No.3 Belgium, Canada and South Africa will need to finish among top two of the pool to secure a place in the knock out.

Also Read: Anganwadi Workers Union protest against Manpreet Singh Badal

“We have chosen the best available combinations. We had to make some tough decisions to select 18 out of a very strong pool of 34 players. The final 18 are a blend of experience and youth and have been selected on the basis of their current form and fitness. These players have consistently shown their potential. I am confident India will put up a fighting performance,” asserted Chief Coach Harendra Singh.

The core group of 34 will continue to train in Bhubaneswar till November 23.


  1. P R Sreejesh
  2. Krishan Bahadur Pathak


  1. Harmanpreet Singh
  2. Birendra Lakra
  3. Varun Kumar
  4. Kothajit Singh Khadangbam
  5. Surender Kumar
  6. Amit Rohidas


  1. Manpreet Singh (Captain)
  2. Chinglensana Singh Kangujam (Vice Captain)
  3. Nilakanta Sharma
  4. Hardik Singh
  5. Sumit


  1. Akashdeep Singh
  2. Mandeep Singh
  3. Dilpreet Singh
  4. Lalit Kumar Upadhyay
  5. Simranjeet Singh