IPL 2020 Highlights: CSK defeats KKR by 6 wickets


Chennai Super Kings (CSK) beat Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by six wickets in a last-ball of Match 49, Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium. Ruturaj Gaikwad scored a fine 72 while Ravindra Jadeja hammered 31* off 11 balls.

Also Read | Twitter apologizes for showing Leh, J&K in China on its location tag

The team needed 173 runs to win, CSK made a solid start as Ruturaj Gaikwad, who played some delectable strokes, and Shane Watson scored 44 runs in the powerplay.

The duo completed a fifty-run stand in the eighth over. But the partnership was broken soon after as Watson was holed out in the deep off Varun Chakravarthy’s bowling.

The 12th over saw Gaikwad bringing up his second successive half-century, CSK crossing their hundred and Gaikwad-Rayudu completing a fifty-run stand.

KKR though started to pull back the things as Pat Cummins and Varun Chakravarthy scalped a wicket each in the 14th and 15th over, dismissing Rayudu and MS Dhoni, respectively. KKR would have also got the wicket of Sam Curran in the 15th over had Chakravarthy completed a caught and bowled chance.

The left-hander hit two fours and a six in the 19th over as CSK scored 20 off the penultimate over bowled by Lockie Ferguson. With 10 needed in the last over, CSK could score 3 from the first four balls. But with 7 needed from the last two deliveries, Jadeja took two sixes as CSK sealed a stunning win.

Also Read | FIH Pro League: The Netherlands men, women teams keep their slates clean against GB

Earlier, CSK made three changes to their team as Shane Watson, Karn Sharma and Lungi Ngidi replaced Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir and Monu Kumar Singh. KKR made one change as Rinku Singh was brought into the playing XI in place of Prasidh Krishna.

Brief Scores: Chennai Super Kings 178/4 (Ruturaj Gaikwad 72, Ambati Rayudu 38; Varun Chakravarthy 2/20) beat Kolkata Knight Riders 172/5 (Nitish Rana 87, Shubman Gill 26; Lungi Ngidi 2/34) by six wickets.

-PTC News