Mandatory for Technical Educational institutes to declare seats before commencement of academic session: Channi

Chandigarh: The Punjab Technical Education Minister Mr. Charanjit Singh Channi has made it clear to all the Technical Educational Institutes that they will have to declare the seats of each course before the start of academic session.

This was disclosed here today by the minister while meeting Joint Action Committee (JAC) comprising 13 different associations representing over 1000 Unaided Colleges of Punjab that met him to discuss various issues related to technical education.

The minister said that no institute would be allowed to increase seats after the declaration of seats of courses. He said that there would be no compromise on the issue of providing quality education to the students.

Mr. Channi said that a uniform and transparent procedure would be adopted for verification and inspection of technical education institutes. He said that technical education department is in process of formulating a comprehensive action plan to ensure the same. He also asked the representatives of the unaided institutes to give their inputs for evolving a uniform inspection pattern.

The Technical Education minister gave a big relief to the students of ITI’s seeking admission in diploma courses for higher courses and allowed temporary admission of these students. He said that that students would be allowed to appear in the diploma course exams only after clearing the ITI courses.  ‘This initiative is taken by the Punjab Government to save one precious academic year of the ITI students’ said Mr. Channi.

The JAC of the unaided institutes in the meeting appreciated the efforts being made by Chief Minister Captain Amrinder Singh, Technical Education Minister Charanjit Singh Channi and Education Minister Aruna Chaudhary to raise the quality of education in Schools, Colleges and universities of Punjab.

The JAC also submitted a memorandum urging Punjab Government to exclude Unaided Colleges from the ambit of Regulatory Body as their number of seats, admissions, syllabus, examination, fee structure etc is already regulated by various regulatory bodies.

Others prominent present in the meeting included Dr. Anshu Kataria, Spokesman JAC, Manjeet Singh (Vice President), PUTIA, Mr. Raman Bhalla (Former Minister Punjab), S. Rajinder Dhanoa (Polytechnic Association),CA Manmohan Garg (Gurukul Vidyapeeth, Banur), Mr. Gurmeet Dhaliwal (Baba Farid, Bathinda), Mr. Hakam Jawandha (Bhai Gurdas, Sangrur), CA Renu Arora (Swami Parmanand, Lalru), Mr. Monty Garg (KCT, Lehra Gaga), Mr Cherry Goyal (Vidya Rattan, Lehra Gaga),  S. Gurkirat Singh (Gulzar Group, Ludhiana), Mr Manav Dhawan (PGC, Lalru), Sh Harinder Kanda (Quest Group).

—PTC News