NATIONAL SPORTS AWARDS -2018 announced; Mirabai Chanu and Virat Kohli to get Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna


NATIONAL SPORTS AWARDS -2018 announced; Mirabai Chanu and Virat Kohli to get Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna

National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four year, Arjuna Award is given for consistency outstanding performance for four years, Dronacharya Award for coaches for producing medal winners at prestigious International sports events, Dhyan Chand Award for life time contribution to sports development and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar  is given to the corporate entities (both in private and public sector) and individuals who have played a visible role in the area of sports promotion and development. Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments is given Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy.

A large number of nominations were received for these awards this year, which were considered by the Selection Committees consisting of former Olympian, Arjuna Awardees, Dronacharya Awardees, Dhyan Chand Awardees, Sport Journalists/ Experts/ Commentators and sports administrators. Selection Committee for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Awards was headed by Justice (Ms.) Indermeet Kaur Kochhar (Former Judge of High Court of Delhi High Court). Selection Committee for Dronacharya Awards and Dhyan Chand Awards was headed by Justice Mr. Mukul Mudgal (Former Chief Justice, High Court of Punjab & Haryana High Court).  Selection Committee for Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar was headed by Shri Rahul Bhatnagar, Secretary (Sports). Selection Committee for MAKA Trophy was headed by Shri Ashok Kumar, former Olympian.

Based on the recommendations of the Committee and after due scrutiny, the Government has decided to confer awards upon the following sportspersons, coaches and entities:

Name of the Sportsperson Discipline
Ms. S. Mirabai Chanu Weightlifting
Shri Virat Kohli Cricket


(ii) Dronacharya Awards 2018

Name of the Coach Discipline
Subedar  Chenanda Achaiah  Kuttappa Boxing
Shri Vijay Sharma




Shri A. Srinivasa Rao


Table Tennis


Shri Sukhdev  Singh  Pannu




Shri Clarence Lobo


Hockey (Life Time)


Shri Tarak Sinha


Cricket (Life Time)


Shri Jiwan Kumar Sharma


Judo (Life Time)


Shri V.R. Beedu


Athletics (Life Time)



 (iii)       Arjuna Awards 2018

Name of the Sportsperson




Shri Neeraj Chopra




Naib Subedar Jinson Johnson




Ms. Hima Das




Ms. Nelakurthi Sikki Reddy




Subedar Satish Kumar




Ms. Smriti Mandhana




Shri Shubhankar Sharma




Shri Manpreet Singh




Ms. Savita




Col. Ravi Rathore




Ms. Rahi Sarnobat




Shri Ankur Mittal




Ms. Shreyasi Singh




Ms. Manika Batra


Table Tennis


Shri G. Sathiyan


Table Tennis


Shri Rohan Bopanna




Shri Sumit




Ms. Pooja Kadian




Shri Ankur Dhama

Shri Manoj Sarkar






(iv) Dhyan Chand Award 2018

Name of the Sportsperson




Shri Satyadev Prasad




Shri Bharat Kumar Chetri




Ms. Bobby Aloysius





Shri Chougale Dadu Dattatray





 (vi) Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar 2018



Name of the entity


1.Identification and Nurturing of Budding & Young Talent


Rashtriya Ispat Nigam Limited


Encouragement to Sports through Corporate Social Responsibility


JSW Sports


Sports for Development


Isha Outreach


(vii) Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2017-18:

Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar

The awardees will receive their awards from the President of India at a specially organized function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on 25th September, 2018.

Apart from a medal and a citation, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardee will receive a cash prize of Rs. 7.5 lakh. Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs. 5 lakh each. A trophy and citation is given to the entity in the Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar, 2018. Recipients of Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar will be given Trophies and certificates. Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments will be given MAKA Trophy, award money of Rs. 10 lakh and certificate.