Nepal betrays India, approves new map including Indian territories in it

Nepal’s Parliament on Thursday unanimously passed the Constitution Amendment Bill to update the country’s map incorporating three Indian territories. All the 57 members voted to support the bill. As per the report, the relations of Nepal-India turned sour after Union Defence Minister Rajnath Singh on May 8 inaugurated the 80-km long strategically crucial road connecting the Lipulekh pass with Dharchula in Uttarakhand.

Likewise, Nepal protested the inauguration of the road and came up with a new map showing Lipulekh, Kalapani, and Limpiyadhura as its territories.

The House of Representatives of Nepal on June 13 passed a bill in an order to amend the country’s political map in its constitution. In a bill, it includes strategic areas bordering India to its territory. These areas include Kalapani, Lipulekh, and Limpiyadhura.

Meanwhile, the Opposition parties in Nepal, including the Nepali Congress (NC), Rashtriya Janata Party-Nepal (RJP-N) and Rashtriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) also voted in the favour of the bill to amend the Schedule 3 of the Constitution incorporating the new controversial map.

To this, Anurag Srivastava, spokesperson for Ministry of External Affairs, reportedly said that it has been noted that Nepal’s House of Representatives has passed a constitution amendment bill for changing the map of Nepal incorporating 3 Indian territories. The spokesperson also termed the claim as ‘artificial enlargement’.

The spokesperson said that it is not based on historical fact or evidence and is not tenable. “It is violative of our current understanding to hold talks on outstanding boundary issues,” he added.

Also Read | India wants peace but it is capable to give a befitting reply if instigated: PM Modi on face-off with China

Defence Minister Rajnath Singh on June 15 had said that “Indo-Nepal ties are not ordinary, we are bound together by ‘roti-beti’ and no power in the world can break it.”

-PTC News