Presidential poll: Droupadi Murmu calls Opposition leaders seeking their support

By Shgun S -- June 24, 2022 3:25 pm -- Updated:June 24, 2022 3:25 pm

New Delhi (India), June 24: Bharatiya Janata Party-led NDA candidate for upcoming Presidential elections, Droupadi Murmu on Friday reached out to the leaders of Opposition parties, seeking their support for her candidature.

Sources said that Murmu spoke with Congress interim-President Sonia Gandhi, TMC supremo and West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee and NCP chief Sharad Pawar.

According to the sources, Banerjee did not make any commitment to Murmu but wished her all the best for the election.

Murmu sought the backing of opposition parties despite Yashwant Sinha being named the joint opposition's presidential candidate. Meanwhile, the BJP's presidential candidate filed her nomination papers at the Parliament Library Building in the national capital on Friday.

Presidential elections: NDA's candidate Droupadi Murmu files her nomination papers

Prime Minister Narendra Modi proposed her name for the nomination, which was seconded by Defence Minister Rajnath Singh. The second set of proposers were the CMs of BJP-ruled states, the third proposers were MLAs and MPs from Himachal and Haryana and the fourth set were MLAs and MPs from Gujarat.

Also Read | Indian national shot dead in US' Maryland, father says never wanted him to go abroad

PM Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP national president JP Nadda, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Union Minister Piyush Goyal, Union Minister Nitin Gadkari, Union Minister for Tribal Affairs Arjun Munda, Union ministers and BJP leaders Gen VK Singh (retd), Bhupender Yadav and Giriraj Singh were present at Parliament during her nomination filing.

Presidential elections: NDA's candidate Droupadi Murmu files her nomination papers

The Chief Ministers of all BJP-ruled states, including Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Assam Chief Minister and Himanta Biswa Sarma among others, were present during her nomination filing.

Besides, the NDA partners, Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party (YSRCP) leader V Vijayasai Reddy and Biju Janata Dal (BJD) Tukuni Sahu, BJJD MP Dr Sasmit Patra and Jagannath Saraka also present.

Also Read | 45.30% voter turnout in Sangrur Lok Sabha bypoll; lowest since 1991

-PTC News

  • Share