Punjab University Election 2017: PUSU + PPSO + NSO + ISA alliance

Punjab University Election 2017: PUSU + PPSO + NSO + ISA alliance
Punjab University Election 2017: PUSU + PPSO + NSO + ISA alliance

Punjab University Election 2017: PUSU + PPSO + NSO + ISA alliance.

President elected from PUSU, Kuldeep Singh Peshu (PhD, Scholar English Department),
Vice President (Nidhi Lamba, PPSO, UIAS), General Secretary – Suraj Dahiya (NSO, Pharmacy), Joint Secretary- Karnbir Singh Randhawa (ISA, MC Anthropology) are all set to contest for the elections.

ABVP will fight for the President post only this year, for which Avinash Pandey is the candidate. Pandey is from the UIT Department and has previously had DRV.

Final list:

According to the final list, 9 candidates will participate in the election of the president, out of which 37 candidates are reported to have withdrawn their names.

Six candidates are in the fray for the Vice President’s race, and a total of 41 candidates have withdrawn their names.

A total of 10 candidates will be elected for the general secretary post, while for the Joint Secretary 54 candidates have filed nomination, but now only 10 candidates remain in the final list.

This time by SFS panel one girl will play in the field, named Hasanpreet Kaur for the presidential election. Hasanpreet is from the Physics Department.

Shiv Saurav for Vice President, UIT, Ranjit Singh for General Secretary, Punjabi Department, And for the post of Joint Secretary, Karan Goel, UILs have landed in the field.

A list of nominations and candidates, before and now

It also needs to be told that 48 candidates had filed nomination for the President’s post while presently there are 9 candidates in the fray.There were a total of 47 people for the vice-president’s election, while now 6 candidates will contest for the post.

59 to 10 candidates for the general secretary’s post are in the final, while for the Joint Secretary, out of 54 candidates, only 10 are finalized.

Interestingly, two candidates have filed their nomination for four posts, one of whom is Priyanka (Pharmacy) while the second name is Arman (UIT). On the other hand, Rajat Sharma a nominated candidate has been nominated for two posts.

Security at the campus

Gates of number 1 and 3 will be closed on Election Day and 14 more cameras have been installed in the wake of security.So far, 11 students have been arrested, out of which 8 have been left after the interrogation.

The PUSU Party is also alleging that 22 of their supporters have been arrested.  After the Gurmeet Ram Rahim’s case, the security arrangements have been further tightened. Sharp vigilance of the police administration is made outdoors, no unwanted person, liquor or any other belongings from outside is allowed inside the campus.

Suspected people are being detained by raiding midnight campus / hotspots. This time the ITBP is also ensuring security along with the police administration.

-PTC News