BCCI names 15-man squad for 3-match Test series against South Africa

By Rajan Nath -- September 12, 2019 5:00 pm -- Updated:September 12, 2019 5:09 pm

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), on Thursday, announced the Indian squad for the three-match Test series against South Africa. Right-handed batsman Shubman Gill has been included in the squad. The team will be led by Virat Kohli with Ajinkya Rahane assisting him as vice-captain. Chief selector of the Indian cricket team, MSK Prasad said, "We want to give Rohit Sharma an opportunity to open the innings in Tests." This hints at the possibility of Sharma opening with Mayank Agarwal.

India's squad for three Tests against South Africa: Virat Kohli (Capt), Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (Vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (Wicketkeeper), Wriddhiman Saha (Wicketkeeper), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma and Shubman Gill.

Also Read: Virat Kohli remembers epic run-chase with MS Dhoni against Australia in T20 World Cup 2016

Paytm Freedom Series for Gandhi-Mandela Trophy between India and South Africa will be played from October 2 to October 23. The first Test will be played at Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium, Visakhapatnam from October 2 to October 6, followed by the second Test at Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune from October 10 to October 14. The final Test will be played at JSCA International Stadium Complex, Ranchi from October 19-23.

-PTC News

  • Share