Mon, Jun 24, 2024

PM Modi tenders resignation to President Murmu ahead of 3rd term | What’s next?

How is the Prime Minister appointed? | Know Prime Minister 's Appointment, Eligibility, Tenure and removal from office

Written by  Shefali Kohli -- June 05th 2024 03:08 PM
PM Modi tenders resignation to President Murmu ahead of 3rd term  | What’s next?

PM Modi tenders resignation to President Murmu ahead of 3rd term | What’s next?

PM Narendra Modi resigns : The final count for the 2024 Lok Sabha election is complete, with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) securing 240 seats. Although this is fewer than anticipated, the BJP maintains a significant lead over the Congress, which won 99 seats.

Ahead of forming the next Bharatiya Janata Party-led NDA government, Prime Minister Narendra Modi has submitted his resignation, along with his council of ministers, to President Droupadi Murmu on Wednesday. 

This will pave the way for the dissolution of the 17th Lok Sabha, which ran from 2014 to 2019.

The President accepted the resignation and requested PM Modi and the Council of Ministers to continue till the new Government assumes office.

The formation of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government and the swearing-in ceremony of PM Modi is likely to take place on June 8.

Both parties are expected to submit formal letters of support to the BJP during a meeting of the alliance which is scheduled to be held later today.

The meeting of the newly elected MPs of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) led by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will be held on June 7 in the national capital. 

The counting of votes for the 2024 Lok Sabha Elections took place on Tuesday. 

According to the Election Commission of India, the BJP won 240 seats, a decrease from 303 in 2019, while the Congress saw substantial gains, winning 99 seats. The INDIA bloc exceeded the 230-mark, posing stiff competition, and defying all predictions from exit polls 

The BJP fell 32 seats short of the 272 majority mark after votes polled in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections were counted. For the first time, since the Bharatiya Janata Party swept to power in 2014, it did not secure a majority on its own.

How is the Prime Minister elected?


A Prime Minister must:

•  Be a citizen of India.

•  Be a member of the Lok Sabha or the Rajya Sabha. If the person chosen as Prime Minister is neither a member of the Lok Sabha nor the Rajya Sabha at the time of selection, they must become a member of either of the houses within six months.

•  Be above 25 years of age if they are a member of the Lok Sabha, or, above 30 years of age if they are a member of the Rajya Sabha.

•  Not hold any office of profit under the government of India or the government of any state or under any local or other authority subject to the control of any of the said governments.


The prime minister is appointed by the president of India; however, the prime minister has to enjoy the confidence of the majority of Lok Sabha members, who are directly elected every five years, lest the prime minister shall resign. 

If no political party has a majority in the Lok Sabha, the President can use discretionary powers to appoint the Prime Minister. The President may invite the leader of a coalition or the largest political party to seek a vote of confidence from the Lok Sabha members, requiring them to secure support from two or more parties.

Tenure and removal from office

The prime minister serves at 'the pleasure of the president', hence, a prime minister may remain in office indefinitely, so long as the president has confidence in him/her. However, a prime minister must have the confidence of Lok Sabha, the lower house of the Parliament of India.

The term of a prime minister can end before the end of a Lok Sabha's term, if a simple majority of its members no longer have confidence in him/her, this is called a vote-of-no-confidence. 

- With inputs from agencies

Top News view more...

Latest News view more...