Mon, Jun 24, 2024

Nitish Kumar and Tejashwi Yadav travel together to Delhi for coalition meetings

In the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, the Congress secured 99 seats, while the BJP won 240, missing the majority mark of 272. These are the official results released by the Election Commission of India on Wednesday.

Written by  Annesha Barua -- June 05th 2024 01:08 PM
Nitish Kumar and Tejashwi Yadav travel together to Delhi for coalition meetings

Nitish Kumar and Tejashwi Yadav travel together to Delhi for coalition meetings

PTC News Desk: Chief Minister of Bihar Nitish Kumar and leader of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Tejashwi Yadav, are on their way to Delhi today to attend meetings where the Opposition INDIA bloc and the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) are strategising their next course of action after the 2024 Lok Sabha Elections conclude and a new government is formed at the federal level.

On flight UK-718 from Patna to Delhi, Nitish Kumar and Tejashwi Yadav set off, with an estimated arrival time in the nation's capital of 10.40 am.

The Election Commission of India released the final results on Wednesday. The Congress earned 99 seats and the BJP won 240, falling short of the 272 majority needed.

Notwithstanding severe defeats in important states like Uttar Pradesh and Maharashtra, as well as an unexpectedly strong showing by the INDIA alliance, Prime Minister Narendra Modi is poised to establish a government at the Center for a third straight term.

The 303 and 282 seats the BJP-led NDA had won in 2019 and 2014, respectively, were a far cry from the 2024 figures.

The most recent advancements are as follows:

1. Before departing for the capital to participate in the NDA gathering over the establishment of a new government, N Chandrababu Naidu, the leader of the TDP, stated, "I am traveling to Delhi today." Before I travel to Delhi after the election, this is my first press conference. I am quite appreciative of the voters' support. In politics, ups and downs are typical. Throughout history, numerous political parties and leaders have been toppled. This election is historic. Voters from overseas have even gone back to their hometowns to cast their ballots."

2. In Patna, Tejashwi Yadav told reporters, "We've done a really wonderful job. Our competition was issue-based. The INDIA bloc was sanctified by Lord Ram at Ayodhya. Thus, it's obvious that the "Modi factor" is over. The majority is distant from the BJP. It is now reliant on partners. We are pleased that we have been able to protect the Constitution to a large degree."

3. "I don't know if Nitish Kumar is also going to Delhi on the same flight," the RJD leader remarked in response to a question regarding taking the same flight as the chief minister of Bihar.

4. The TDP leader N Chandrababu Naidu and RJD spokesperson Manoj Kumar Jha informed reporters on Tuesday that Nitish Kumar and Naidu "shared a dislike for vendetta politics" and that this might drive them away from the BJP-led NDA. Naidu is also scheduled to visit Delhi today.

5. In response to a question about whether Nitish Kumar was being spoken with by Tejashwi Yadav and RJD head Lalu Prasad Yadav, Jha stated, "Those who need to contact him are talking to him." For a while now, our leader Tejashwi Yadav has been stating that Nitish Kumar will make a significant decision on or around June 4.

6. After winning handily in the general elections, Chandrababu Naidu, who will take over as the next chief minister of Andhra Pradesh, expressed gratitude to PM Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, and BJP national president JP Nadda "for their commitment to Andhra Pradesh's future".

7. "I express my gratitude to the people of our state for bestowing upon the TDP, JSP, and BJP alliance a resounding mandate to serve them. We will rebuild our state together, having triumphed in the war to reclaim it "he tweeted.

8. The PTI news agency reported, citing sources, that the NDA meeting at the Prime Minister's residence on Wednesday afternoon will assess the results of the Lok Sabha election and discuss the specifics of the formation of a new Central government, which is probably going to be different in composition and character with a larger share for the BJP's allies.

9. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who is scheduled to serve a record-breaking third term in power, is also anticipated to receive congratulations from prominent BJP and other ally leaders who are expected to be present.

10. Meanwhile, leading opposition figures, such as Akhilesh Yadav of the Samajwadi Party, Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, and others, will be present at the INDIA bloc meeting, which is scheduled to begin at around six o'clock in the national capital.

11. The BJP's defeat, according to Aam Aadmi Party MP Sanjay Singh, was demonstrated by the INDIA bloc's decision to convene and talk about forming a government, as reported by India Today's sister channel Aaj Tak.

12. "Congress, the largest party in the bloc, has stated that today's meeting will determine the approach to take in attempting to establish the government. Who is speaking with the TDP chief is unknown to me. On the subject of federalism, Chandrababu Naidu convened the opposition parties in 2019. The INDIA Bloc was formed at the initiative of Nitish Kumar. The BJP stole MLAs from JDU in the northeast. I hope the JDU and TDP will consider these concerns before making a decision," he continued.

13. Sanjay Raut, the leader of the Shiv Sena (UBT), however, stated that if Congress MP Rahul Gandhi was prepared to take on the role of opposition leader, there would be no problems.

14. "He has established himself as a national leader. He is well-liked. He is loved by all of us. There is unanimity within the INDIA alliance over the choice of the prime minister, he informed reporters.

15. The outgoing Cabinet of Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be treated to supper tonight by President Draupadi Murmu. The Rashtrapati Bhavan will be the venue for the dinner.

16. Tuesday saw the tabulation of over 640 million votes from the world's largest democratic exercise, which took place over seven days from April 19 to June 1.

- With inputs from agencies

Top News view more...

Latest News view more...