Mon, May 27, 2024

PM Modi files nomination papers from Varanasi, ahead of Lok Sabha 2024 polls

The PM will submit his nomination for the Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha election of 2024 at approximately 11:40 a.m., coinciding with the times of Abhijit Mahurat and Anand Yog. Due to the alignment of Pushya Nakshatra and Ganga Saptami, May 14 is also significant.

Written by  Annesha Barua -- May 14th 2024 10:58 AM -- Updated: May 14th 2024 12:24 PM
PM Modi files nomination papers from Varanasi, ahead of Lok Sabha 2024 polls

PM Modi files nomination papers from Varanasi, ahead of Lok Sabha 2024 polls

PTC News Desk: After praying at the Kaal Bhairav temple and Dashashwamedh Ghat in Varanasi on Tuesday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi submitted his candidacy for the Lok Sabha constituency.

Yogi Adityanath, the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh, was among those in attendance at the collectorate as Modi submitted his paperwork. The Prime Minister said prayers at the Dashashwamedh Ghat on the Ganga's banks earlier in the day. He also offered aarti at the ghat while Vedic mantras were being chanted.

Modi wrote in a Hindi post on X, "My relationship with my Kashi is amazing, inseparable, and incomparable...all I can say is that it cannot be expressed in words!"

He is aiming for a hattrick in the Lok Sabha constituency of Varanasi, which he first won in 2014. A day before, the prime minister promised to do much more during his third term to support the holy city of Varanasi during a flashy roadshow.

He shared a video of his roadshow on Monday on 'X' a day later, captioning it, "The love and blessings that my family members of Kashi showered on me during the road show has become an unforgettable moment in my life."

Modi would probably be accompanied to the collectorate by a number of Union ministers, like as Amit Shah and Rajnath Singh, chief ministers of BJP- and NDA-ruled states, and party officials on Tuesday when he files his candidacy.

It is also anticipated that Apna Dal (S) president Anupriya Patel, chairman of the Lok Dal, Jayant Chaudhary, chief of the LJP, and Omprakash Rajbhar, president of Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party, will be in attendance.

Chief ministers Nitish Kumar (Bihar), Pushkar Singh Dhami (Uttarakhand), Mohan Yadav (Madhya Pradesh), Eknath Shinde (Maharashtra), Bhajan Lal Sharma (Rajasthan), Himanta Biswa Sharma (Assam), Nayab Singh Saini (Haryana), Pramod Sawant (Goa), Prem Singh Tamang (Sikkim), and Manik Saha (Tripura) are likely to attend the prime minister's nomination filing in addition to Adityanath.

Why was 11.40 am the PM's choice?

Astrology states that Abhijit Muhurat, which falls between sunrise and sunset, is the eighth muhurat of the day. On May 13, Pushya Nakshatra will start at 11.23 am and go till 1.05 pm. On May 14, Ashlesha Nakshatra will come after. These constellations are favorable for the PM according to his horoscope.

Additionally, the day falls on Ganga Saptami. It is thought that on this day, Goddess Ganga descends to earth to bestow blessings onto her followers. Because of the alignment of Pushya Nakshatra and Ganga Saptami, May 14 is a significant day. On this day, one should expect all tasks to be effective and lead to the realization of their desires.

Witness PM Modi present his candidacy from Varanasi

The PM had submitted his nomination at the Collectorate Office in Varanasi on April 26 at approximately 11:44 a.m., ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

Who is going to be with the PM?

There will be twelve chief ministers from states where the BJP rules joining PM Modi. Chief Ministers Yogi Adityanath of Uttar Pradesh, Nitish Kumar of Bihar, Pushkar Singh Dhami of Uttarakhand, Mohan Yadav of Madhya Pradesh, Vishnu Dev Sai of Chhattisgarh, Eknath Shinde of Maharashtra, Bhajan Lal Sharma of Rajasthan, and Hemant Biswa Sharma of Assam are among those anticipated to attend the function.

It is stated that PM Modi's stronghold is Varanasi. In the Lok Sabha elections of 2014 and 2019, he emerged victorious. This time, PM Modi is facing Ajay Rai, the chief of the Uttar Pradesh Congress.

Rai will take on PM Modi in a Lok Sabha election for the third time.With more than 674,664 votes, PM Modi won the seat in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

- With inputs from agencies

Top News view more...

Latest News view more...