IPL 2020 Finals: Mumbai Indians take trophy home; defeat Delhi Capitals

Mumbai Indians had a spectacular win as the Rohit Sharma-led side were simply unstoppable right from the start and finally after over two months, Mumbai defend the title successfully and win the IPL for a record fifth time.

Indian Premier League Final: Wasim Jaffer's Epic Message For Mumbai Indians As They Win 5th IPL Title | Cricket News

Also Read | Bihar Elections 2020: Nitish Kumar, BJP led-NDA wins

Rohit Sharma led from the front while Trent Boult starred with the ball. Mumbai Indians (MI) beat Delhi Capitals (DC) by five wickets to grab their fifth IPL title.


MI needed 157 runs to win the final and were off to a flying start as Rohit, who completed 4000 IPL runs for MI, and Quinton de Kock attacked from the word go, taking MI to 45/0 after 4 overs.

However, their partnership was broken after de Kock was dismissed by Marcus Stoinis.

IPL Final: How Mumbai Indians celebrated their third title, watch video | Sports News,The Indian Express

Suryakumar Yadav replaced de Kock in the middle and announced his arrival in style, creaming a four and a six on the first two balls he faced before MI marched to 61/1 after the end of powerplay.

Rohit then notched up his third half-century of the season and took MI past the hundred-run mark in the 12th over.

 Also Read | Trump fires Esper, appoints Christopher Miller as acting SECDEF

Two overs later, Iyer hit two fours and completed his third fifty of the season before Boult, bowling his final over of the night, picked his third wicket of the match, dismissing Shimron Hetmyer. While Iyer remained not out on 65, DC eventually posted 156/7 on the board.

Mumbai Indians Win | IPL 2020 Final, MI vs DC: Twitterverse Congratulates Mumbai Indians For Winning Record-Extending Fifth IPL Title

Brief Scores: Mumbai Indians 157/5 (Rohit Sharma 68, Ishan Kishan 33*; Anrich Nortje 2/25) beat Delhi Capitals 156/7 (Shreyas Iyer 65*, Rishabh Pant 56; Trent Boult 3/30) by five wickets.

-PTC News