Sun, Jun 4, 2023

New Parliament inauguration: Which political parties will be attending the ceremony?

Written by  Shefali Kohli -- May 25th 2023 09:53 PM
New Parliament inauguration: Which political parties will be attending the ceremony?

New Parliament inauguration: Which political parties will be attending the ceremony?

New Parliament inauguration: Amid the boycott call by the opposition, the Centre has received a confirmed list of 25 political parties, including some which are not a part of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), that will participate in the inauguration ceremony of new Parliament building on May 28.

Apart from the BJP, several parties in the NDA including AIADMK, Apna Dal, the Republican Party of India, the Shinde faction of Shiv Sena, NPP, and NPF have confirmed their attendance for the function on Sunday.

Several neutral parties, including Biju Janata Dal, TDP, and YSRCP will be present for the inauguration.

Amongst the opposition parties, Shiromani Akali Dal and Bahujan Samajwadi Party and JDS will attend the function on Sunday.

This comes after 19 opposition parties including Congress put out a joint statement announcing a boycott of the Parliament building inauguration.

New Parliament building inauguration: Date, timings, other details

As per the sources, the ceremony will take place in the morning on May 28, which includes pujas performed by Vedic ritual way starting at 7:30 am these pujas will go on till close to 9 AM, after which the inauguration function is expected to begin at around noon. 

For the pujas in the morning, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Lok Sabha, Speaker, Om Birla, Deputy Chairman, Hariwansh and a couple of top officials are expected to be present   

Special priests will be coming down from across the country and performing the pujas, sources said.

New Parliament building inauguration ceremony schedule 

Puja will start at 7:30 am and will go on till close to 9 AM

At 11:30 am all the invitees including members of Parliament, Lok Sabha Speaker and Rajya Sabha, chairman and other distinguished guests are expected to be seated in the Lok Sabha chamber in the new building.

The function is expected to begin at about 12 pm and is expected to be over by around 1:30 pm.

During the function, the secret Sengol will be installed in the Central Hall of Parliament in the new building, which is essentially the Lok Sabha chamber. A speech will be delivered by Lok Sabha Speaker Mr Om Birla and Prime Minister Narendra Modi is expected to make the closing speech.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla, who will dedicate to the nation the new Parliament building on May 28, are also likely to deliver a speech after the inauguration ceremony, sources said.   

The new Parliament building symbolises the spirit of self-reliant India (Aatmanirbhar Bharat) and will be dedicated by PM Modi to the nation on May 28.


How many members can sit in New Parliament building? 

The new Parliament building will enable 888 members to sit in the Lok Sabha.

In the present building of the Parliament, there is a provision for the sitting of 543 Members in the Lok Sabha while 250 in the Rajya Sabha. Keeping in view the future requirements, arrangements have been made for a meeting of 888 members in the Lok Sabha while 384 members in the Rajya Sabha in the newly constructed building of the Parliament. The joint session of both Houses will be held in the Lok Sabha Chamber. 




Top News view more...

Latest News view more...