Assembly Constituency List

Amritsar South

By Muskan K -- January 11, 2022 1:42 pm -- Updated:January 11, 2022 1:44 pm

Punjab Assembly Elections 2022: Amritsar South constituency is located in the Amritsar district of Punjab. It is one of the 117 seats of Punjab Vidhan Sabha. Congress' Inderbir Singh Bolaria won the last assembly elections and is the current MLA of Amritsar South.

He won the 2017 elections by defeating the Aam Aadmi Party's (AAP) Inderbir Singh Nijjar with a margin of 22,658 votes.


According to the voter list for the 2017 assembly elections, the total number of voters in the constituency is 1,48,578. 151 polling stations were established by the election commission during these elections.

A total of 93,182 votes were cast in the Amritsar South constituency and the percentage was 62.72%, which was recorded lower than the state average.


Aam Aadmi Party's Inderbir Singh Nijjar, Shiromani Akali Dal's Gurpartap Singh Tikka and Congress' Inderbir Singh Bolaria were MLA candidates for Amritsar South constituency in the 2017 Punjab assembly elections.

Inderbir Bolaria (Congress) grabbed 47,581 votes. While Inderbir Nijjar (AAP) received 24,923 and Gurpartap Tikka (SAD) got just 16,596 votes.

For the latest updates on Punjab Assembly elections 2022, click here.

  • Share