Assembly Constituency List


By Muskan K -- January 11, 2022 4:35 pm

Punjab Assembly Elections 2022: Kapurthala constituency, located in the Kapurthala district of Punjab, is one of the 117 seats of Punjab Vidhan Sabha. Congress' Rana Gurjit Singh won the last assembly elections and is the current MLA of Kapurthala.

He won the 2017 elections by defeating Advocate Paramjit Singh of Shiromani Akali Dal with a margin of 28,817 votes.


According to the voter list for the 2017 assembly elections, the total number of voters in the constituency is 1,40,944. 182 polling stations were established by the election commission during these elections.

A total of 1,04,739 votes were cast in the Kapurthala constituency and the percentage was 74.31%, which was recorded lower than the state average.


Aam Aadmi Party's Sukhwant Singh Padda, Shiromani Akali Dal's Paramjit Singh and Congress' Rana Gurjit Singh were MLA candidates for Kapurthala constituency in the 2017 Punjab assembly elections.

Rana Gurjit Singh (Congress) grabbed 56,378 votes, runner up Advocate Paramjit Singh (SAD) managed to get 27,561 votes and Sukhwant Singh (AAP) received 18,076 votes.

For the latest updates on Punjab Assembly elections 2022, click here.

  • Share