Tue, May 30, 2023

New Parliament building inauguration: Date, timings, guest list, schedule, others deets

Written by  Shefali Kohli -- May 26th 2023 08:28 AM
New Parliament building inauguration: Date, timings, guest list, schedule, others deets

New Parliament building inauguration: Date, timings, guest list, schedule, others deets

New Parliament building inauguration: Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Lok Sabha Speaker, Om Birla will lead the inauguration ceremony of the new parliament building on Sunday, May 28, which will be dedicated to the nation.

 Also Read: New Parliament building inauguration: Special pujas, elaborate ceremony to take place on May 28  

Know the schedule for New Parliament building inauguration

The sources said that the rituals ahead of the inaugural ceremony will begin in the morning and is likely to be held in a pandal (canopy) near the Gandhi statue in Parliament. 

PM Modi, Lok Sabha Speaker, Om Birla, Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman Hariwansh and some senior ministers in the government are likely to be part of the ceremony.

It is learnt that after the pujas, the dignitaries will examine the premises of the Lok Sabha's chamber and the Rajya Sabha chamber in the new building. It is likely that the sacred 'Sengol' will be installed in the Lok Sabha chamber, right next to the Speaker's chair, after performing some rituals, for which priests from Tamil Nadu, including the original jeweller who designed it, will be present.

A prayer ceremony will also be organised on the premises of the new parliament building, say the sources.

The morning phase will end at close to 9:30 am after which the second leg of the ceremony is expected to begin at noon with the singing of the national anthem in the Lok Sabha chamber in the presence of all the dignitaries including PM Modi.


New Parliament building inauguration: Who all to attend ceremony? 

The Centre has received a confirmed list of 25 political parties, including some which are not a part of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), that will participate in the inauguration ceremony of the new Parliament building on May 28.

Apart from BJP, several parties in the NDA including AIADMK, Apna Dal, the Republican Party of India, the Shinde faction of Shiv Sena, NPP, and NPF have confirmed their attendance for the function on Sunday.

Several neutral parties, including Biju Janata Dal, TDP, and YSRCP will be present for the inauguration.

Amongst the opposition parties, Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD), Bahujan Samajwadi Party (BSP) and Janata Dal-Secular will also attend the function on Sunday.

An invitation has also been sent to certain prominent personalities, including film stars and sports persons.


What new Parliament Building symbolises? 

The new Parliament building symbolises the spirit of self-reliant India (Aatmanirbhar Bharat) and maintains the government.

The newly constructed building of Parliament, which will work to further enrich India's glorious democratic traditions and constitutional values, is also equipped with state-of-the-art facilities which will help the Members to perform their functions in a better way.

Also Read: New Parliament inauguration: Which political parties will be attending the ceremony? 

How many members can sit in New Parliament building? 

The new Parliament building will enable 888 members to sit in the Lok Sabha. In the present building of the Parliament, there is a provision for the sitting of 543 Members in the Lok Sabha while 250 in the Rajya Sabha.   

Keeping in view the future requirements, arrangements have been made for a meeting of 888 members in the Lok Sabha while 384 members in the Rajya Sabha in the newly constructed building of the Parliament. The joint session of both Houses will be held in the Lok Sabha Chamber. 



- With inputs from agencies


Top News view more...

Latest News view more...