SAD Chief Sukhbir Singh Badal takes oath as MP for 17th Lok Sabha

Sukhbir Singh Badal

Shiromani Akali Dal Supremo Sukhbir Singh Badal has taken oath as a member of 17th Lok Sabha, here on Tuesday. Sukhbir Singh Badal concluded his oath with positive intent and a Sikh religious chant of ‘Wahe Guruji Ka Khalsa, Wahe Guruji De Fateh’. Sukhbir Singh Badal participated in Lok Sabha Elections 2019 from Firozpur seat where he defeated Congress’ candidate Sher Singh Ghubaya with a huge margin. Badal garnered 633427 votes whereas Congress candidate Shreya Singh got 432964 votes.

In Lok Sabha Election 2019, Sukhbir Singh Badal was way ahead in the race. Members of the 17th Lok Sabha were elected during the Lok Sabha Elections 2019. The elections were concluded in 7 phases from 11 April 2019 to 19 May 2019. The official counting took place on May 23, 2019, and the results were declared. In results, BJP got a huge majority and NDA swept the opposition to make the government again.

Also Read: SAD President Sukhbir  Singh Badal pays obeisance at Gurudwara Ber Sahib  

Meanwhile, BJP MP Om Birla has been elected as the new Lok Sabha Speaker for 17th Lok Sabha. SAD Chief Sukhbir Singh Badal has been a member of 11th and 12th Lok Sabha, representing Faridkot. In 2004, he was again elected as Member of Parliament for 14th Lok Sabha from Faridkot only. The first session of 17th Lok Sabha took place on Monday, where Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Congress President Rahul Gandhi, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Home Minister Amit Shah, and Transport & Highway Minister Nitin Gadkari among other prominent leaders took the oath.

-PTC News