Assembly Constituency List


By Muskan K -- January 12, 2022 12:33 pm

Punjab Assembly Elections 2022: Urmar constituency is located in the Hoshiarpur district of Punjab. It is one of the 117 seats of Punjab Vidhan Sabha. Sangat Singh Gilzian from Congress won the last assembly elections and is the current MLA of Urmar.

He won the 2017 elections by defeating Shiromani Akali Dal's Arvinder Singh Rasoolpur with a margin of 14,954 votes.


According to the voter list for the 2017 assembly elections, the total number of voters in the constituency is 1,72,621. 214 polling stations were established by the election commission during these elections.

A total of 1,24,934 votes were cast in the Urmar constituency and the percentage was 72.37%, which was recorded lower than the state average.


Aam Aadmi Party's Jasvir Singh Gill (Raja), Shiromani Akali Dal's Arvinder Singh Rasoolpur and Congress' Sangat Singh Gilzian were MLA candidates for the Urmar constituency in the 2017 Punjab assembly elections.

Sangat Singh Gilzian (Congress) won with 51,477 votes, while Arvinder Singh Rasoolpur (SAD) got 36,523 votes. Aam Aadmi Party candidate Jasvir Singh Gill managed to win 32,445 votes.

For the latest updates on Punjab Assembly elections 2022, click here.

  • Share