Himachal Assembly elections 2022: Day after, BJP releases second list of candidates

By Shefali Kohli -- October 20th 2022 05:17 PM

Himachal Pradesh, October 20: Bharatiya Janata Party released a list of 62 candidates for the upcoming Assembly polls in the state, the party on Thursday declared the names of the remaining six candidates who will contest the elections.

With the declaration of the names of the remaining candidates, the BJP has released the full list of those who will be in the fray in the 68-seat Assembly in Himachal.

Out of the six candidates getting ticket in the second list, one woman found representation while the other five are male candidates.

Also Read: Preparations underway in Kedarnath ahead of PM Modi’s visit

Among those selected to contest are Ramesh Dhawala from Dehra, Ravinder Singh Ravi from Jawalamukhi, Maheshwar Singh from Kullu, Maya Sharma from Barsar, Prof. Ramkumar from Haroli, and Kaul Negi from Rampur (SC).

The party had released its first list of 62 candidates on Wednesday morning.

The Central Election Committee (CEC) of BJP approved the list of candidates for the Assembly elections which included five women candidates.


The Central Election Committee of BJP on Tuesday met to discuss the seat distribution in the state and finalised the list of candidates for the Assembly elections.

Some incumbent MLAs have been dropped.

The ruling party has fielded Chief Minister Jairam Thakur from Seraj, Anil Sharma from Mandi and Satpal Singh Satti from Una.

The BJP has given tickets to Hans Raj from Churah (SC) Dr. Jannak Raj from Bharmour (ST), Indira Kapoor from Chamba, DS from Dalhousie, Vikram Jariyal from Bhattiyat, Ranveer Singh (Nikka) from Nurpur, Rita Dhiman from Indora (SC), Rakesh Pathania from Fatehpur, Sanjay Guleria from Jawali, Bikram Thakur from Jaswan-Prangpur, Ravinder Dhiman from Jaisinghpur (SC) and several others.

The party has not given a ticket to Anurag Thakur's father and former CM Prem Kumar Dhumal. Anurag Thakur's father-in-law Gulab Singh has also been denied a ticket.

Also Read: India’s defence sector is in ‘golden period’: Rajnath

Both had to face defeat in the 2017 elections.

The state will go to the polls on November 12 and the counting of votes will be held on December 8.

-PTC News with ANI inputs

  • Share