India clinch ODI series against SA, equal world record for most wins in a yr

By Jasleen Kaur -- October 11th 2022 07:14 PM -- Updated: October 11th 2022 07:55 PM

Defeating South by seven wickets in the third ODI, India on Tuesday clinched the series 2-1. India equalled the world record for most wins in international cricket on a year by winning 38 matches in 2022.

Earlier in 2003, Australia had set the record with 38 victories. On the other hand, South Africa recorded the lowest-ever ODI total (99) against India.

Also Read | SYL row: Haryana CM ML Khattar to meet Punjab counterpart Bhagwant Mann on Oct 14

Talking about Tuesday's match, India defeated South Africa by seven wickets thanks to a four-wicket haul from spinner Kuldeep Yadav and crucial contributions from other Indian bowlers.

India won the series 2-1 as South Africa were bowled out for a paltry 99 in 27.1 overs on Tuesday.

Kuldeep Yadav was the star bowler, taking four wickets for 18 runs. Washington Sundar (2/15) and Mohammad Siraj (2/17) assisted him brilliantly. Shahbaz Ahmed grabbed two wickets and gave 32 runs. 

None of the other batters was able to stay on the crease for very long, while Heinrich Klaasen scored 34 runs. With the help of opener Shubman Gill (49) and Shreyas Iyer (28*), India successfully chased the score in 19.1 overs.

India got off to a strong start as Shubman Gill seized on the pace of Lungi Ngidi and Marco Jansen, ripping them for some stunning boundaries.

Shikhar Dhawan was more cautious but still managed to hit a great cover drive.

India clinch ODI series against SA, equal world record for most wins in a yr

After a mix-up between the batters, Dhawan was run out by wicketkeeper-batters Quinton De Kock and Marco Jansen, ending the 42-run opening stand. Dhawan scored 8 runs off of 14 balls.

Gill was joined at the crease by Ishan Kishan, and the team scored fifty runs in 9.3 overs.

India was 53/1 at the end of the power play in 10 overs, with Gill (31*) and Kishan (6*).

Kishan's time at the crease was put to an end by spinner Bjorn Fortuin, who nicked the ball to wicketkeeper De Kock for 10 runs off of 18 balls. 

Shreyas Iyer stepped in with Gill and smashed Anrich Nortje for a six and Fortuin for two straight four-run hits.

With three runs needed for India to win the match, bowler Lungi Ngidi trapped Gill lbw off 57 balls.

Sanju Samson joined Iyer on the crease and took two runs to level the score. Iyer hit a massive six to end the match, pushing India to 105/3.

Also Read | Will have meeting with Haryana CM, other officials over SYL issue: Bhagwant Mann

-PTC News

  • Share