Sat, Jun 15, 2024

BJP secures third consecutive term in Arunachal, SKM achieves resounding victory in Sikkim

Results of the Sikkim Assembly election show that SKM won a landslide victory in Arunachal Pradesh, giving the BJP control of the state for a third consecutive term.

Written by  Annesha Barua -- June 02nd 2024 01:37 PM
BJP secures third consecutive term in Arunachal, SKM achieves resounding victory in Sikkim

BJP secures third consecutive term in Arunachal, SKM achieves resounding victory in Sikkim

PTC News Desk: Arunachal Pradesh was won by the BJP, which is expected to return for a third term in a row. In the meantime, the Sikkim Democratic Front was soundly defeated by the ruling Sikkim Krantikari Morcha, who easily won the majority in Sikkim.

In Arunachal Pradesh, the BJP emerged victorious for the third time in a row, winning 38 seats and taking the lead in seven more. With 20 of the 32 seats won by the ruling Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM), the party is expected to easily defeat its opponent, the Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF). The ECI results show that the SKM is leading in 11 seats.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) reports that the BJP secured 38 out of 60 seats, having previously won 10 seats without a challenge and holding a lead in 7 seats in Arunachal Pradesh.

In Arunachal Pradesh, the National People's Party (NPEP) is leading in three seats and has won two. The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) is in the lead with three seats, while the People's Party of Arunachal Pradesh (PPA) has gained two. The ECI data shows that independents are leading two seats and have won one.

With 11 seats to go, the SKM has crossed the majority threshold. Meanwhile, Pawan Kumar Chamling's SDF has only secured one seat thus far.

Both Pema Khandu, the chief minister of Arunachal Pradesh and a prominent member of the BJP, and Prem Singh Tamang, the chief minister of Sikkim, are scheduled to make their third comebacks. Tamang is running for two seats: Rhenock and Soreng-Chakung. He won the first by a margin of 7,044 votes, and he is currently leading in the second.

In Arunachal Pradesh, celebrations have started after the BJP was elected to a third term. The similar thing happened in Sikkim, when SKM employees were seen celebrating their party's latest triumph with song and applause.

On April 19, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim cast ballots. Sikkim recorded a total voter participation of 79.88%, whilst Arunachal Pradesh recorded an impressive 82.95 percent.

In Sikkim, Pawan Kumar Chamling's SDF and the ruling SKM were engaged in a major battle. For the northeastern state's elections, candidates from the BJP and Congress were also fielded.

BJP's Narendra Kumar Subba, former Indian footballer Bhaichung Bhutia, former chief minister Prem Singh Tamang, his wife Krishna Kumari Rai, and former chief minister Pawan Kumar Chamling are among the 146 candidates running in Sikkim.

The BJP nominated 31 candidates, while SKM and SDF fielded 32 apiece. The Citizen Action Party-Sikkim fielded candidates for 30 seats, while the Congress ran for 12 seats.

2019 saw the SDF win 15 seats and the SKM, under the leadership of Prem Singh Tamang, win 17.

The main contest for the 60-member Arunachal assembly was between the Congress and the ruling BJP. While the Congress only fielded candidates in 19 seats, the BJP fielded candidates in all 60 seats. In Arunachal Pradesh, candidates from the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and the National People's Party (NPEP) were also filed.

Since no other candidates submitted nominations in these constituencies—Bomdila, Chowkham, Hayuliang, Itanagar, Mukto, Roing, Sagalee, Tali, Taliha, and Ziro-Hapoli—the BJP has already won ten seats without facing any opposition.

Leading figures in Arunachal Pradesh are BJP members Chowna Mein, the deputy chief minister, and Pema Khandu, the chief minister. The election has already been won by them. Additional prominent contenders include BJP's Biyuram Wahge, BJP's Ninong Ering, BJP's Karikho Kri, BJP's Pani Taram, BJP's Kumar Wali, BJP's Kamlung Mosang, BJP's Wangki Lowang, and Congressman Jampa Thirnly Kunkhap.

The People's Party of Arunachal (PPA) won one seat, the Congress won four, the BJP won 41, Janata Dal (United) won seven, and two Independents also won in the last Assembly election in 2019.


According to India Today-Axis, in Sikkim According to my India exit poll, the ruling SKM was expected to hold onto power in the state and win between 24 and 30 seats, which would be a notable rise.

According to exit poll estimates, the BJP was expected to win handily in Arunachal Pradesh. In the 60-member state, the saffron side was expected to win 44 to 51 seats.

- With inputs from agencies

Top News view more...

Latest News view more...