Mon, Apr 15, 2024

India’s richest woman Savitri Jindal quits Congress, joins BJP

Written by  Shgun S -- March 28th 2024 07:29 PM
India’s richest woman Savitri Jindal quits Congress, joins BJP

India’s richest woman Savitri Jindal quits Congress, joins BJP

PTC News Desk: Savitri Jindal, India's richest woman and former Haryana minister, joined the BJP on Thursday, a day after resigning from Congress. Her daughter, Seema Jindal, also joined the saffron party.

The development comes only days after Savitri Jindal's son and businessman, Naveen Jindal, switched parties.

Resigning from Congress on Wednesday, the 84-year-old stated, “I represented the people of Hisar for 10 years as an MLA and have served Haryana state selflessly as a minister. The people of Hisar are my family and on the advice of my family, I am resigning from the primary membership of the Congress today."

India's richest woman

Forbes India named Savitri Jindal the country's richest woman this year.

Savitri Jindal, wife of late industrialist and former minister O P Jindal, has a net worth of USD 29.1 billion, according to Forbes' list of India's ten richest women.

Savitri Jindal is the chairman of O P Jindal Group, a steel and power company. She disclosed Rs 43.68 crore in assets for the 2009 assembly election, which climbed to Rs 113 crore in 2014 when she ran for office again from Hisar.

According to the Bloomberg Billionaires Index, Savitri reached an astounding financial milestone in 2023, outpacing the net worth growth of the country's greatest businessmen.

Political journey

Savitri, known for her simplicity, entered politics following the death of her husband, Om Prakash Jindal. Om Prakash Jindal, the then-minister in the Bhupinder Singh Hooda government, passed away in a helicopter crash in 2005.

She won the Hisar by-election later that year and was appointed minister in the Hooda cabinet. In 2009, she won the Haryana Assembly election from Hisar again, and in 2013, she was appointed as a Haryana government minister. However, she lost the Hisar election in 2014 and did not run for the Haryana Assembly in 2019.

Also Read

Which states will vote in how many phases? Find out here!

BJP Lok Sabha candidates list: PM Modi to contest from Varanasi

Lok Sabha Election 2024: Voting to start from April 19; results on June 4

ECI issues notice to BJP's Dilip Ghosh, Cong' Supriya Shrinate over controversial remarks



Top News view more...

Latest News view more...