Fri, Jul 19, 2024

G20 Summit in Delhi: These Delhi Metro sites will remain shut, check details

Reported by:  PTC News Desk  Edited by:  Shefali Kohli -- September 04th 2023 11:26 AM
G20 Summit in Delhi: These Delhi Metro sites will remain shut, check details

G20 Summit in Delhi: These Delhi Metro sites will remain shut, check details

G20 Summit in Delhi: All eyes on G20 Summit in Delhi which is scheduled to take place on September 9th and 10th, 2023 and will be joined by representatives of member nations as well as guest nations. 

In order to maintain law and order situation in the national capital and for foolproof security arrangements during the G20 Summit to be held in Delhi from September 9 to 10, the Delhi Police metro unit asked the Chief Security Commissioner to close some metro station gates that open towards the VVIPS Route, venue of Summit from September 8 to 10.

Also Read: G20 Summit: Joe Biden ‘disappointed’ as Xi Jinping to skip G20 Summit in Delhi

As per the official data, 39 stations action needs to be taken while Supreme Court, Janpath, Bhikaji Cama Place, Khan Market and Dhaula Kuan have been marked as ‘Sensitive’ stations.

Restrictions on these Delhi Metro sites 

  • All gates of the Supreme Court station of Delhi Metro will be closed from September 8 to 10
  • Gate numbers 1,2 and 3 of Khan Market are asked to be closed and gate number 4 to open for entry and exit.
  • Gate number 2 of Kailash Colony station is to be closed and all gates of Lajpat Nagar metro station except gate number 5 are to close, said the letter.
  • Janpath station which is marked as sensitive, only gate number 2 will be operational.
  • All Gates of Bhikaji Cama Place, another sensitive marked station are asked to be closed, according to the letter by DCP metro.


No restrictions on entry & exit of these Delhi Metro sites 

However, there would be no restrictions on entry and exit for commuters on stations like- Aero City, Dhaula Kuan, South Campus, Dwarka Sec-21, Panchsheel Park, Chirag Delhi, Greater Kailash, Nehru Enclave, Kalkaji Mandir, Rajiv Chowk, Chawri Bazar and Chandni Chowk.

The two-day G-20 summit beginning September 9 is drawing leaders and delegates from 40 countries, including the 20 member states.

Delhi Police, which started its preparations for the G20 Summit in earnest a few months ago, has been training personnel who are to be deployed at various locations ahead of and during the big-ticket summit.


About G20 Summit in Delhi

The G20 Heads of State and Government Summit in New Delhi will be a culmination of all the G20 processes and meetings held throughout the year among ministers, senior officials, and civil societies. A G20 Leaders’ Declaration will be adopted at the conclusion of the New Delhi Summit, stating Leaders’ commitment towards the priorities discussed and agreed upon during the respective ministerial and working group meetings. 

Also Read: G20 Summit in Delhi: Checkout theme, logo, location, schedule, participating nations and more

G20 Countries 

The Group of Twenty (G20) comprises 19 countries and the European Union. The 19 countries are - Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States. The invited countries are Bangladesh, Egypt, Mauritius, Netherlands, Nigeria, Oman, Singapore, Spain and UAE. 

- With inputs from agencies

Top News view more...

Latest News view more...