Sun, Mar 26, 2023

Ahmedabad, Lucknow two new IPL teams

Written by  Jasleen Kaur -- October 25th 2021 07:30 PM -- Updated: October 25th 2021 07:58 PM
Ahmedabad, Lucknow two new IPL teams

Ahmedabad, Lucknow two new IPL teams

Indian Premier League: Ahmedabad and Lucknow are two new members of the Indian Premier League (IPL) family as it will now be a 10-team affair from the next season.

Also read | Southwest monsoon withdraws from country, says IMD

The bidding took place at Taj Hotel in Dubai on Monday and it is the RP-Sanjiv Goenka Group (RPSG) (Lucknow) and CVC Capital Partners (Ahmedabad) which will join the cash-rich league as the new owners. The development has also been confirmed by a BCCI official.

IPL Dates & Schedule: For longer IPL, BCCI agrees to 2 more ICC events

The IPL's first season was played in 2008, and ever since, the league has grown in stature and it is one of the most viewed competitions in the world.

Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Kolkata Knight Riders, Delhi Capitals, SunRisers Hyderabad, Punjab Kings, and Rajasthan Royals have been with the league since its inception. The Hyderabad franchise was earlier named Deccan Chargers but it came to be known as SunRisers Hyderabad after a change in ownership.

There have been 14 seasons of the IPL tournament. The 15th season promises to be like no other and viewership is all set to increase.

Also read | Man tests positive for Zika virus in UP’s Kanpur; Central team rushed to state

In 2010, two new franchises - Pune Warriors India and Kochi Tuskers Kerala - joined the league before the fourth season in 2011 and for a brief period, the league was played by ten teams.

IPL 2021 Points Table, Orange Cap, Purple Cap Holder List: Most Runs and  Most Wicket Takers in IPL, Team Standings

One year later in November 2011, it was announced that Kochi Tuskers Kerala side would be terminated following it "breaching" the BCCI's terms of conditions. Pune Warriors India had withdrawn from the IPL in 2013 over financial differences with the board.

But it is all set to be a 10-team affair again come 2022.

Live blog: Who will be the IPL's two new franchises?

-PTC News

Top News view more...

Latest News view more...