Former Japan PM, Indian-American scientist among 7 Padma Vibhushan awardees

By Gitanjali Mangal -- January 25, 2021 10:25 pm -- Updated:January 25, 2021 10:25 pm

The Padma Vibhushan Awards, one of the highest civilian awards conferred by the President on the eve of Republic Day every year, have been announced.

Also Read | RBI on scrapping old notes of Rs 100, 10 and 5 after March

This year’s seven Padma Vibhushan recipients include the former prime minister of Japan, Shinzo Abe, late Indian-American scientist Narinder Singh Kapany, and late playback singer SP Balasubramaniam.

Shinzo Abe's dilemma: caught between Abenomics and nationalism | by  International Affairs | International Affairs Blog | Medium

Famous playback singer SP Balasubramaniam passed away - The Thinkera

The Padma Vibhushan Awards are usually announced a day before Republic Day.

Former Speaker of Lok Sabha Sumitra Mahajan, former chief minister of Gujarat Keshubhai Patel (posthumous) and late union minister Ram Vilas Paswan are among 10 Padma Bhushan recipients this year.

Also on the list are former chief minister of Assam Tarun Gogoi (posthumous), head of Ram Temple trust and former principal secretary to PM Nripendra Misra, and former Member of Parliament Tarlochan Singh.

These awards were instituted in the year 1954 and are conferred in three categories- Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.

Even though these awards do not amount to a title and cannot be used as a suffix or prefix to the awardees’ name, the recipients are given a small replica of the medallion, which they can wear during any ceremonial or state functions.

The Padma Vibhushan is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service. This year, seven people have been honored with this award.

Here is the list of the awardees:

  • Shri Shinzo Abe- Public Affairs- Japan
  • Shri S P Balasubramaniam (Posthumous)- Art- Tamil Nadu
  • Dr. Belle Monappa Hegde- Medicine- Karnataka
  • Shri Narinder Singh Kapany (Posthumous)- Science and Engineering- United States of America
  • Maulana Wahiduddin Khan- Others- Spiritualism- Delhi
  • Shri B. B. Lal- Others- Archaeology- Delhi
  • Shri Sudarshan Sahoo- Art- Odisha

This year has 103 Padma Shri recipients, including four from Punjab.

-PTC News

  • Share