Haryana Assembly Elections 2019: CM Manohar Lal Khattar casts his vote in Karnal

By Rajan Nath - October 21, 2019 11:10 am

Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar rode a cycle to the polling booth in Karnal to cast his vote on Monday. Polling began in 90 assembly constituencies in Haryana at 7 am and will continue till 6 pm, officials said. The election will be crucial for Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar, former chief minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda, JJP’s Dushyant Chautala and INLD’s Abhay Singh Chautala.


After casting his vote, Khattar said, “Voting is underway peacefully across the state. Opposition parties, including Congress, have already lost and have left the battleground, their tall claims have no value.” The voter turnout till 10 am in Haryana and Maharashtra stood at 8.92% and 5.77% respectively.

Also, Read | Assembly elections 2019: Voting begins in Punjab, Haryana, and Maharashtra

Earlier, Wrestlers Babita Phogat, Geeta Phogat, and their family cast their vote at a polling booth in Balali village in Charkhi Dadri constituency. Babita Phogat is contesting on BJP ticket from here against Congress candidate Nirpender Singh Sangwan and JJP candidate Satpal Sangwan.