Indian Junior women to play in 3-nation hockey tournament in Canberra

By Rajan Nath - November 15, 2019 5:11 pm

An 18-member Indian Junior women’s hockey team is all set to play in a three-nation tournament in Canberra early next month. Hockey India on Friday named the 18-member Indian Junior women's team for the tournament where besides India, the hosts Australia and New Zealand will be other participants.

The 3-Nation Tournament will see India play a total of four matches - two each against Australia and New Zealand. The tournament starts on December 3. Australia will take on New Zealand on the opening day while India will play its first match on December 4 against New Zealand.

The Indian Junior women's team will be captained by Suman Devi Thoudam while  Ishika Chaudhary has been named vice captain.  Bichu Devi Kharibam and Rashanpreet Kaur have been selected as the goalkeepers while the out-field players include Ishika Chaudhary, Suman Devi Thoudam, Priyanka, Mahima Choudhary, Marina Lalramnghaki, Gagandeep Kaur, Prabhleen Kaur, Mariana Kujur, Chetna, Reet, Baljeet Kaur, Ajmina Kujur, Beauty Dungdung, Deepika, Lalrindiki and Sharmila Devi, who recently represented the Senior women's team at the FIH Hockey Olympic Qualifiers Odisha.

Speaking about the team selection, Indian Junior women team's coach, Baljeet Singh, said, "We had a good experience earlier this year when we took part in matches in Ireland and Belarus, and we are expecting a tougher challenge this time in Australia. The players who have been selected in the side provide some good options for us, both defensively and going forward. Playing against the likes of Australia and New Zealand will give the players a wealth of experience, and shall help us in performing at a high intensity consistently."


1. Bichu Devi Kharibam

2. Rashanpreet Kaur

3. Ishika Chaudhary (Vice-Captain)

4. Suman Devi Thoudam (Captain)

5. Priyanka

6. Mahima Choudhary

7. Marina Lalramnghaki

8. Gagandeep Kaur

9. Prabhleen Kaur

10. Mariana Kujur

11. Chetna

12. Reet

13. Baljeet Kaur

14. Ajmina Kujur

15. Beauty Dungdung

16. Sharmila Devi

17. Deepika

18. Lalrindiki

-PTC News