Mon, Apr 15, 2024

Haryana CM Nayab Singh Saini allocates portfolios | Who gets what?

Written by  Jasleen Kaur -- March 23rd 2024 07:39 AM
Haryana CM Nayab Singh Saini allocates portfolios | Who gets what?

Haryana CM Nayab Singh Saini allocates portfolios | Who gets what?

PTC Web Desk: In a late evening development on Friday, Haryana Chief Minister Nayab Singh Saini allocated portfolios to his Council of Ministers. Following an official order issued by the Haryana Government late Friday evening, CM Saini has retained significant state departments under his purview, including the crucial Home Department. 

As per the directive, Chief Minister Nayab Singh Saini will personally oversee the Home, Revenue and Disaster Management, Youth Empowerment and Entrepreneurship, Information and Public Relations, Languages and Culture, Mines and Geology, Administration of Justice, and Foreign Cooperation Departments. Additionally, he will also manage the Criminal Investigation Department, Law, Personnel and Training, Raj Bhavan Affairs, and any other department not specifically assigned to a minister.

The previous Home Department, which was under Anil Vij in the prior Manohar Lal Khattar-led Cabinet, remains with CM Saini in the current arrangement. Anil Vij, along with several others, including J P Dalal, has not been allocated a position in the Saini Cabinet.

Cabinet Minister Kanwar Pal has been entrusted with key responsibilities, including the Agriculture and Farmers Welfare, Animal Husbandry, Fisheries, Heritage and Tourism, and Parliamentary Affairs departments. Notably, Agriculture, previously held by J P Dalal in the Khattar cabinet, now falls under Kanwar Pal's purview.


Mool Chand Sharma, transitioning from the Transport portfolio in the previous ministry, has been assigned the Industry and Commerce, Labour, and Food Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs departments. Ranjit Singh retains his responsibilities over the Energy and Jails departments, maintaining continuity from the Khattar government.

In another significant development, Jai Prakash Dalal assumes the key Finance portfolio, which was previously held by Manohar Lal Khattar. He will also oversee the Town and Country Planning and Urban Estates departments. Kamal Gupta, another Cabinet minister, inherits the Health, Ayush, and Medical Education and Research departments, previously under Anil Vij. Gupta also takes charge of Civil Aviation, formerly managed by Dushyant Chautala of JJP.

Banwari Lal, among the Cabinet ministers, will oversee the Public Health Engineering and Public Works (Building and Roads) departments. Meanwhile, among the Ministers of State with Independent Charge, Seema Trikha will be responsible for School Education and Higher Education, while Mahipal Dhanda will handle the Development and Panchayats and Co-operation departments, previously led by JJP leaders.

Additional portfolios have been distributed among Aseem Goel, Abhe Singh Yadav, Subhash Sudha, and Sanjay Singh, each tasked with specific departments essential to governance and public service delivery.

The allocation of portfolios to the Council of Ministers was conducted by the Governor of Haryana upon the recommendation of the Chief Minister, reflecting a strategic approach towards governance and administration.

Nayab Singh Saini's ascension to the position of Chief Minister came as a surprise move by the BJP, replacing Manohar Lal Khattar ahead of the Lok Sabha elections. Following his oath-taking ceremony on March 12, Saini swiftly formed his Council of Ministers, signaling a proactive approach towards governance. The recent expansion of his cabinet, incorporating new faces and aligning with the government's vision, further solidifies his administration's commitment to effective leadership and governance



Top News view more...

Latest News view more...