Sat, Jul 20, 2024

July 10 bypolls: A comprehensive look at 13 Assembly seats across 7 states

With counting of votes set for July 13, these bypolls are poised to be a litmus test for major political players in each state

Reported by:  PTC News Desk  Edited by:  Jasleen Kaur -- July 06th 2024 07:26 PM
July 10 bypolls: A comprehensive look at 13 Assembly seats across 7 states

July 10 bypolls: A comprehensive look at 13 Assembly seats across 7 states

PTC Web Desk: As India gears up for a significant electoral event on July 10, the bypolls across 13 Assembly constituencies in seven states offer a rich tapestry of political contestation. With the counting of votes set for July 13, these bypolls are poised to be a litmus test for the major political players in each state.

Here’s an in-depth look at the key constituencies, candidates, and political stakes in the upcoming bypolls across the states of West Bengal, Bihar, Tamil Nadu, Madhya Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh, and Punjab.

West Bengal 

West Bengal will witness bypolls in four constituencies: Raiganj, Ranaghat Dakshin, Bagdah, and Maniktala. Each of these seats holds historical and strategic significance in the state's political landscape. Raiganj, located in North Dinajpur district, has been a battleground for political supremacy between the TMC and BJP. In recent elections, the seat has seen a shift in allegiance with BJP MLAs joining TMC and a significant loss in the Lok Sabha Elections.

The TMC has fielded Partha Pratim Roy, while the BJP has nominated Debasree Chaudhuri. The bypolls will test the TMC’s ability to maintain its position and the BJP’s effort to reclaim a strategic constituency.

Ranaghat Dakshin (SC reserved) constituency in Nadia district has been a focal point due to the strong presence of the Matua community. The seat was earlier held by BJP MLA Mukut Mani Adhikari, who joined the TMC before the Lok Sabha elections. The TMC has chosen Subhendu Adhikari, while the BJP has re-nominated Jagannath Sarkar.

In North 24 Parganas district, Bagdah has been a significant seat for both TMC and BJP, with previous elections showing intense competition. The TMC has selected Nirmal Chatterjee, and the BJP has fielded Suman Chatterjee.

Once a Congress stronghold, Maniktala is now a TMC bastion following the death of TMC leader Sadhan Pandey. Supti Pandey, Sadhan Pandey’s widow, represents the TMC, while the BJP has re-nominated Kalyan Chaubey.


The Rupauli seat was vacated due to Bima Bharti’s resignation as JD(U) MLA, who then joined the RJD and contested unsuccessfully in the Lok Sabha elections. The RJD has given the ticket to Bima Bharti, while the JD(U) has fielded Kaladhar Mandal. The bypoll will be a test for RJD's influence in Bihar and the effectiveness of Bima Bharti’s return to her old constituency.

Tamil Nadu 

The Vikravandi seat became vacant after the death of DMK MLA N  Pughazenthi. The DMK has fielded Anniyur Siva, while the PMK has nominated C. Anbumani, and the NTK has put forward Dr. Abhinaya.

Madhya Pradesh

Amarwara’s seat fell vacant after Congress MLA Kamlesh Shah joined the BJP and resigned. The BJP has nominated Kamlesh Shah, and the Congress has fielded Dheeran Shah Invati. The bypoll is crucial for both parties as the seat falls within the Chhindwara constituency, a stronghold for Congress veteran Kamal Nath.


Badrinath: The seat became vacant after Congress MLA Rajendra Bhandari resigned and joined the BJP. The constituency includes the Char Dham shrines and has seen recent land subsidence issues.

Manglaur: The bypoll was necessitated due to the death of BSP MLA Sarwat Karim Ansari.

From Badrinath,  the BJP has nominated Rajendra Bhandari, and the Congress has fielded Lakhpat Butola. From Manglaur, the BJP’s candidate is Kartar Singh Bhadana while the Congress has chosen Qazi Nizamuddin.

Himachal Pradesh

Dehra: The bypoll was necessitated due to Independent MLAs joining the BJP. The Congress has fielded Kamlesh Thakur, the wife of Chief Minister Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu.

Hamirpur: Also vacated due to Independent MLAs joining the BJP.

Nalagarh: The third constituency vacated under similar circumstances.

In Dehra, it is  Hoshiar Singh (BJP) vs. Kamlesh Thakur (Congress); in Hamirpur: Ashish Sharma (BJP) vs. Pushpendra Verma (Congress) and  Nalagarh: KL Thakur (BJP) vs. Hardeep Singh Bawa (Congress).


The Jalandhar West seat fell vacant due to AAP MLA Sheetal Angural’s resignation to join the BJP.

The candidates are AAP: Mohinder Bhagat; Congress: Surinder Kaur and BJP: Sheetal Angural (former AAP MLA). With Punjab Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann leading the campaign for AAP, the bypolls are a critical battleground for AAP to maintain its position in Punjab.

- With inputs from agencies

Top News view more...

Latest News view more...