Rahul Gandhi resigns from the post of Congress President

By Rajan Nath -- July 03, 2019 4:07 pm -- Updated:Feb 15, 2021

Rahul Gandhi has resigned from the post of Congress President taking the full responsibility of the defeat in Lok Sabha Elections 2019, here on Wednesday. In his tweet, Rahul Gandhi said, "It is an honour for me to serve the Congress Party, whose values and ideals have served as the lifeblood of our beautiful nation. I owe the country and my organization a debt of tremendous gratitude and love. Jai Hind".

Rahul Gandhi resignation has been in headlines after he adamantly asked the party to accept his resignation post-defeat in Lok Sabha Elections 2019. Rahul Gandhi contested Lok Sabha Elections 2019 from Amethi in Uttar Pradesh and Wayanad in Kerala. Rahul Gandhi won the Wayanad seat but defeated by Smriti Irani from Amethi Constituency.

Also Read: I am no longer the Party President: Rahul Gandhi asks the Party to find new Congress President

Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, Punjab Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh, and Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Kamal Nath offered their resignation on Tuesday after Rahul Gandhi denied to take back the decision of resigning from Congress President. Rahul Gandhi has been adamant on his decision despite Sonia Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi and other senior Congress leader's request to not to resign from the post of Congress President.

Earlier, Rahul Gandhi told media persons that he is no longer the Party President and the party should look forward to finding the new Congress President without any delay. Afterward, Rahul Gandhi resigned from the post of party president and shared it on the Twitter taking the responsibility for defeat in Lok Sabha Elections 2019.

-PTC News

  • Share