Sangrur Lok Sabha bypoll: Raghav Chadha reveals reason behind AAP's loss

By Shgun S -- June 26, 2022 7:17 pm -- Updated:June 26, 2022 7:17 pm

New Delhi, June 26: After Shiromani Akali Dal (Amritsar) chief Simranjit Singh Mann won the Sangrur Lok Sabha byelection, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) Rajya Sabha MP Raghav Chadha on Sunday blamed the downfall in the vote share of other political parties including Congress, Shiromani Akali Dal and the BJP behind his party's loss in Sangrur bypoll.

Others' loss became the gain of winning candidate Simranjit Mann, he added.

Chadha, who was instrumental in AAP's landslide victory in Punjab Assembly elections held earlier this year, took to Twitter and said though AAP has lost the seat, it retained its vote share with a meagre fall from 37 percent to 35 percent.

The byelection was a battle of prestige for both ruling AAP and Bhagwant Mann who represented the Sangrur seat since 2014 and resigned after taking over as the Chief Minister earlier this year.

AAP to contest Punjab Assembly elections 2022 on its won: Raghav Chadha - PTC  News

"We humbly accept Sangrur's verdict. We will certainly work harder. While AAP retained its vote share with a meagre fall from 37% to 35%, all other parties INC, SAD & BJP lost deposits! Vote share: SAD from 24% to 6% INC from 27% to 11% Others loss became Simranjit Mann's gain," the Punjab MP tweeted.

SAD (A) leader Simranjit Singh Mann on Sunday won the Sangrur Lok Sabha bypoll with 2,53,154 votes, defeating AAP's Sangrur district president Gurmail Singh.

Also Read | Sidhu Moosewala's song 'SYL' released posthumously banned in India

 ਸੁਖਬੀਰ ਸਿੰਘ ਬਾਦਲ ਨੇ ਸੰਗਰੂਰ ਲੋਕ ਸਭਾ ਦੀ ਜ਼ਿਮਨੀ ਚੋਣ ਜਿੱਤਣ ’ਤੇ ਸਿਮਰਨਜੀਤ ਸਿੰਘ ਮਾਨ ਨੂੰ ਦਿੱਤੀ ਵਧਾਈ

The bypoll in Bhagwant Mann's stronghold Sangrur was necessitated after he resigned as MP following his victory from the Dhuri constituency in the state assembly elections.

"This is a great win for our party. We have defeated all national parties in this bypoll. My priority will be to raise the issue of the poor economic condition of Sangrur including the condition of farmers under debt. We will work with the Punjab government," Simranjit Mann stated.

Who is Sangrur's new MP Simranjit Singh Mann? Know his electoral profile

"I am grateful to our voters of Sangrur for having elected me as your representative in parliament. I will work hard to ameliorate the sufferings of our farmers, farm labour, traders and everyone in my constituency," he further said.

Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) chief Sukhbir Singh Badal congratulated Simranjit Mann and said, "I sincerely and wholeheartedly congratulate Sardar Simranjit Singh Mann and his party on their electoral victory in Sangrur parliamentary bypoll and offer them our best wishes and cooperation. We bow before the mandate of the people in a true democratic spirit."

Also Read | Sangrur by-election 2022 Results: SAD Asr's Simranjit Singh Mann wins Lok Sabha Seat with margin of 7054 votes

-PTC News

  • Share