Thu, Jul 18, 2024

Reunion after 20 years: IND vs AUS World Cup in 2003 and 2023 – Incredible Resemblance

Reported by:  PTC News Desk  Edited by:  Shefali Kohli -- November 17th 2023 04:29 PM -- Updated: November 17th 2023 04:35 PM
Reunion after 20 years: IND vs AUS World Cup in 2003 and 2023 – Incredible Resemblance

Reunion after 20 years: IND vs AUS World Cup in 2003 and 2023 – Incredible Resemblance

IND vs AUS World Cup 2003 vs 2023: It’s time for replay, rewind and sensation of Déjà vu as in an incredible resemblance, the arch-rivals India and Australia are all set to meet after 20 years in World Cup Final 2023 on November 19 at the  Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. 

Excitement is in the air for World Cup Final 2023 and cricket lovers can’t keep calm because after endless days and nights of suspense and wait, the similarities between the highly-anticipated team India vs Australia first in 2003 and now in 2023 drives craziness among people. 

Clashing again after 20 years, the eagerly anticipated clash between India and Australia promises to be a spectacle of cricketing prowess, with both teams fiercely determined to make their mark in the tournament. 

IND vs AUS World Cup Final 2003

Twenty years ago on March 23, 2003, the historic match between India and Australia took place at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg. 

Australia batted first and posted a formidable total of 359/2 in their 50 overs. Ricky Ponting played a memorable innings, scoring an unbeaten 140 runs off 121 balls. Damien Martyn also contributed with a fine innings of 88 not out.

In response, India fought hard but fell short of the target. They scored 234 runs in 39.2 overs, with Rahul Dravid top-scoring with 47. Australia's Glenn McGrath was the pick of the bowlers, taking 3 wickets for 52 runs. Australia won the match by 125 runs, claiming their second consecutive ICC Cricket World Cup title.

This final is particularly remembered for Ricky Ponting's exceptional innings, leading Australia to a dominating victory.

IND vs AUS World Cup 2023 

Since 2003 and now meeting in 2023, India and Australia to face each other in the final of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 after the latter beat South Africa by three wickets in the second semifinal at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Thursday.

On November 19, Men in Blue with their unwavering commitment and enthusiasm is all set to compete for its third World Cup crown against Australia at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. India last won the title in 2011, when it defeated Sri Lanka in the final in Mumbai's Wankhede Stadium and won their first World Cup under Kapil Dev's captaincy in 1983.

Indian cricketer’s splendid and remarkable achievement so far stands as an inspirational tale for budding cricketers nationwide. 

India Squad: Rohit Sharma(c), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul(w), Shubhman Gill, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj.

Australia Squad: David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Cameron Green, Alex Carey(w), Glenn Maxwell, Pat Cummins(c), Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Adam Zampa.

- With inputs from agencies

Top News view more...

Latest News view more...