Tue, Jun 25, 2024

Who all are expected to attend Narendra Modi's oath-taking ceremony?

At 7:15 p.m., the national capital's Rashtrapati Bhavan's Forecourt will host Narendra Modi's oath-taking ceremony.

Written by  Annesha Barua -- June 09th 2024 10:57 AM
Who all are expected to attend Narendra Modi's oath-taking ceremony?

Who all are expected to attend Narendra Modi's oath-taking ceremony?

PTC News Desk: On Sunday, June 9, Narendra Modi will take the oath of office as prime minister for a third time in a row, having secured a majority for the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in the just ended Lok Sabha Elections. The national capital's Rashtrapati Bhavan's Forecourt will host the massive event starting at 7:15 p.m.

Over 8,000 people, including a variety of professionals and cultural entertainers, are expected to attend the oath-taking ceremony, according to the officials.

Given that Modi will be departing later this week for the G7 conference in Italy, the guest list has been limited to a minimum, according to sources cited by ANI. President Droupadi Murmu will host a banquet for the dignitaries at Rashtrapati Bhavan after the event.

Special Invitees for Modi's Oath-Taking Ceremony: A Comprehensive Overview

Leaders from neighboring nations and the Indian Ocean region are set to grace Narendra Modi's swearing-in ceremony. As part of India’s ‘Neighbourhood First’ policy, several heads of state have confirmed their attendance. Notable dignitaries include Sri Lanka President Ranil Wickremesinghe, President of Maldives Mohamed Muizzu, Vice-President of Seychelles Ahmed Afif, Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, Prime Minister of Mauritius Pravind Kumar Jugnauth, Prime Minister of Nepal Pushpa Kamal Dahal 'Prachanda', and Prime Minister of Bhutan Tshering Tobgay.

Adding to the diversity of guests, Vande Bharat loco pilot Aishwarya S Menon from Chennai Railway Division and Asia's first female loco pilot, Surekha Yadav, have received invitations. Furthermore, individuals who contributed to the Central Vista Project, including sanitation workers, transgender staff, and laborers, will be honored guests at the ceremony. Notably, rat-hole miners who played a crucial role in rescuing 41 trapped construction workers in Uttarakhand's Uttarkashi collapsed tunnel last year are also on the guest list.

Beyond these commendable figures, distinguished religious leaders, lawyers, doctors, artists, cultural performers, and influencers will be in attendance. Participants acknowledged by Modi in his 'Mann Ki Baat', alongside Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan, and Padma Shri awardees, are also expected to grace the occasion.

Moreover, outgoing Parliamentarians, BJP leaders, NEC members, and other MPs, MLAs, and MLCs are anticipated to attend. With PM Modi's cabinet likely to include 27 to 30 ministers, approximately one-third of whom are allies of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) and some ministers of state, the event promises to be a diverse and inclusive affair. The formula shared with allies suggests a cabinet minister’s post for every four to five MPs and a junior minister’s post for every two.

In the recently concluded general elections, the BJP secured 240 seats, and the National Democratic Alliance clinched a majority of 293 seats out of 543 Lok Sabha seats. In contrast, the Congress won 99 seats, while the INDIA bloc secured 234 seats, indicating the diverse political landscape that will be represented at the ceremony.

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2024: Canadian rapper Drake bets Rs 5 crore on team India to defeat Pakistan in high-stakes clash

- With inputs from agencies

Top News view more...

Latest News view more...