Thu, Sep 21, 2023

Chinese President Xi Jinping likely to skip G20 Summit in Delhi, check details

Written by  Shefali Kohli -- August 31st 2023 02:23 PM
Chinese President Xi Jinping likely to skip G20 Summit in Delhi, check details

Chinese President Xi Jinping likely to skip G20 Summit in Delhi, check details

China to skip G20 Summit in Delhi? All eyes on G20 Summit in Delhi which is scheduled to take place on September 9th and 10th, 2023 and will be joined by representatives of member nations as well as guest nations.

As the invitations have been already sent out to G20 members and countries for their participation in the G20 Summit. 

Also Read: Russian President Vladimir Putin unlikely to attend G20 Summit in Delhi; know why

Responding to the question on whether Chinese President Xi Jinping to attend the G20 Summit in Delhi or not? 

The sources stated that Chinese President Xi Jinping is likely to skip the G20 Summit to be held in India next week with the matter in India and China have revealed. 

On Xi's behalf, Chinese Premier Li Qiang is expected to represent Beijing at the September 9-10 meeting in New Delhi, as per two Indian officials, one diplomat based in China and one official working for the government of another G20 country.

As per the sources, the G20 Summit in India had been viewed as a venue at which Xi may meet with US President Joe Biden, who has confirmed his attendance, as the two superpowers seek to stabilise relations soured by a range of trade and geopolitical tensions.

Xi last met Biden on the sidelines of the G20 summit in Bali, Indonesia, last November.

The Chinese President has made few overseas trips since China abruptly dropped its Covid restrictions. 

About G20 Summit in Delhi

The G20 Heads of State and Government Summit in New Delhi will be a culmination of all the G20 processes and meetings held throughout the year among ministers, senior officials, and civil societies. A G20 Leaders’ Declaration will be adopted at the conclusion of the New Delhi Summit, stating Leaders’ commitment towards the priorities discussed and agreed upon during the respective ministerial and working group meetings. 

Also Read: G20 Summit in Delhi: Checkout theme, logo, location, schedule, participating nations and more

G20 Countries 

The Group of Twenty (G20) comprises 19 countries and the European Union. The 19 countries are - Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States. The invited countries are Bangladesh, Egypt, Mauritius, Netherlands, Nigeria, Oman, Singapore, Spain and UAE. 

- With inputs from agencies


Top News view more...

Latest News view more...