India to host men's World Cup Hockey in 2023, Spain and the Netherlands to co-host Women's World Cup in 2020

By Rajan Nath -- November 08, 2019 5:11 pm -- Updated:Feb 15, 2021
India will play host to men's World Cup Hockey Tournament for a record fourth time in 2023. The 2022 Women's World Cup Hockey, however, will be organised jointly by Spain (Terrassa) and the Netherlands (Amstelveen). A decision about the 2022 Women's World Cup and men's World Cup was taken by the Executive Board of the International Hockey Federation (FIH) at its meeting in Lausanne on Friday.
India had played host to the 1982 (Mumbai), 2020 (New Delhi) and 2028 (Bhubaneshwar)  of the earlier  editions World Cup for men.
The men's World Cup will be held in January (13 to 29)  2023 while Women's World Cup will be held in JUly, (1 to 17)  2022.

The exact venues will be announced by the host nations.

The schedule of the 2022 FIH Hockey Women’s World Cup will be as follows:

  • Preliminary Phase:
    • 2 Preliminary phase pools in the Netherlands (including the Dutch team)
    • 2 Preliminary phase pools in Spain (including the Spanish team)
  • Quarter Finals:
    • 2 crossover matches and 2 quarter-finals in the Netherlands
    • 2 crossover matches and 2 quarter-finals in Spain
  • Final phase in Spain:
    • Semi-finals
    • Match for 3rd place
    • Final

The competition format of the 2023 FIH Hockey Men’s World Cup will be the same as in  Bhubaneshwar (2018).

FIH CEO Thierry Weil said: “FIH has received excellent bids to host these prestigious events. It was therefore a difficult choice to make. Since the primary mission of FIH is to grow the sport worldwide - which of course requires to make investments -, the income-generation potential of each bid has played an important role in the decision.”

Commenting on the organization of the FIH Hockey World Cups, he added: “We will work closely with the Local Organizing Committees on the sustainability and legacy aspects of these events.”

The Executive Board also approved the qualification process for both events:

  • The hosts will qualify automatically (1 team)
  • The winners of the Continental Championships will qualify directly (5 teams)
  • The remaining 10 teams will qualify through a home-and-away play-off; the 20 teams involved in these qualifiers will be determined by Continental quotas, based on the FIH World Rankings at the end of the Olympic Games Tokyo 2020 and the finishing positions of teams in the Continental Championships.

-PTC News

  • Share