Rail Roko agitation: 30 locations affected, 8 trains regulated in Northern Railway Zone

By Rajan Nath -- October 18, 2021 12:10 pm -- Updated:Feb 15, 2021

Lakhimpur Kheri Farmers' Protest: Northern Railway on Monday morning informed that 30 locations have been affected and eight trains have been regulated following the 'Rail Roko' agitation.

The Sanyukta Kisan Morcha, an umbrella body of farmers' unions, said it will hold a peaceful nationwide rail roko agitation from 10 am to 4 pm demanding justice for Lakhimpur Kheri violence in Uttar Pradesh.

Also Read | Sanyukt Kisan Morcha condemns ‘gruesome murder’ of Lakhbir Singh at Singhu border 


Chief Public Relation Officer of the Northern Railways in an official communique, said, "As of now, 30 locations are affected and 8 trains regulated in Northern Railway Zone."

Also Read | News of Dr. Manmohan Singh’s death is FAKE! He is stable


A statement issued by the umbrella body of farmers' unions on Sunday read, "To press for its demand for Ajay Mishra's dismissal and arrest, so that justice can be secured in Lakhimpur Kheri violence, SKM has announced a nation-wide rail roko program on October 18."

"SKM put out a call to its constituents to stop rail traffic for six hours on October 18, between 10 am and 4 pm. SKM asked for this action to be taken up peacefully, without any destruction and damage of any kind to any railway property," it said further.


A total of eight people including four farmers died in the Lakhimpur Kheri violence that took place on October 3.

However, Minister of State for Home Affairs Ajay Mishra Teni had refuted the allegations saying that his son was not present at the site of the incident. Ashish reiterated the same and refuted SKM's allegations.

Later, several people, including Ashish Mishra, were arrested in the case.

-PTC News

  • Share