T20 WC: New Zealand wins toss, bat against Pakistan in 1st semi-final

By Shefali Kohli -- November 9th 2022 02:04 PM
T20 WC: New Zealand wins toss, bat against Pakistan in 1st semi-final

Sydney, November 9: New Zealand captain Kane Williamson won the toss and opted to bat first against Pakistan in the first semi-final of the ongoing ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 at Sydney Cricket Ground in Sydney on Wednesday.

Pakistan qualified for the semi-finals by defeating Bangladesh in their final Super 12 encounter. South Africa's loss to the Netherlands was also crucial in Pakistan's advancement to the semi-finals. New Zealand, on the other hand, topped Group 1.

Also Read| Anand Marriage Act will be implemented in Punjab: CM Bhagwant Mann

Meanwhile, New Zealand have excelled as a unit across the three different phases. From Finn Allen's Powerplay exploits to Glenn Phillips' calculated onslaughts, New Zealand's batting packs quite a punch.

 The Kiwis can bat deep and have batters for any situation. The bowling attack includes a left-arm quick bowler who excels in the Powerplay, a swing bowler, a high-end pace bowler who hits the deck hard, and two types of spinners.

On the other hand, having defeated New Zealand in New Zealand to win the tri-series trophy, Pakistan will be looking for a win with the momentum they have built over the last couple of Super 12 matches.

 Pakistan will present hurdles, but there is no doubt that the Black Caps are up to the task, making for an exciting game on paper.

New Zealand (Playing XI): Finn Allen, Devon Conway(w), Kane Williamson(c), Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Lockie Ferguson and Trent Boult.

Also Read| SGPC president polls: Sikh body to elect new chief today

Pakistan (Playing XI): Mohammad Rizwan(w), Babar Azam(c), Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Haris, Shan Masood, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf and Shaheen Afridi.  


  • Share