DC vs SRH Qualifier 2 Highlights: DC enters IPL finals for the first time

By Gitanjali Mangal - November 09, 2020 2:11 pm

Delhi Capitals (DC) defeat Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) by 17 runs in Qualifier 2 of the Dream11 Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 in Abu Dhabi on Sunday.

Also Read | UK to honour 21 heroes of Saragarhi who killed 200 with 9-ft bronze statue

Marcus Stoinis, Shikhar Dhawan and Kagiso Rabada played pivotal roles in making Delhi Capitals face Mumbai Indians in the finals.

After putting up 189/3 on the board on the back of Dhawan’s 78, Hetmyer’s 42 and Stoinis’ 38, DC limited SRH to 172/8 to make it to their first ever IPL final.

SRH needed 190 runs to win and suffered a big blow as Kagiso Rabada dismissed David Warner in the second over. While Manish Pandey and Priyam Garg counterattacked to take SRH to 36 after the end of the fourth over.

educare But Marcus Stoinis struck twice in the fifth over to dismiss both the batsmen. First, he disturbed the timber to get Garg out and then had Manish caught at mid-on.

Also Read | Total ban on firecrackers in Delhi-NCR from Nov 9 midnight to Nov 30

Although Rashid Khan and Samad teamed up to hit two sixes and a four in the next eight deliveries, Rabada’s three-wicket over ended SRH’s hopes. The right-arm pacer had Samad caught after his 16-ball 33-run blitz and then dismissed Rashid and Shreevats Goswami before DC restricted SRH to 172/8 to seal a win.

DC had chosen to bat, and made two changes to their team as Shimron Hetmyer and Pravin Dubey replaced Daniel Sams and Prithvi Shaw.

Brief Scores: Delhi Capitals 189/3 (Shikhar Dhawan 78, Shimron Hetmyer 42*; Rashid Khan 1/26) beat Sunrisers Hyderabad 172/8 (Kane Williamson 67, Abdul Samad 33; Kagiso Rabada 4/29) by 17 runs.

-PTC News