Helicopter crash: Last rites of Brigadier Lidder performed with full military honours

By Rajan Nath -- December 10, 2021 12:16 pm -- Updated:December 10, 2021 12:23 pm

Tamil Nadu IAF Helicopter crash: The last rites of Defence Adviser to the Chief of Defence Staff (CDS) General Bipin Rawat, Brigadier Lakhbinder Singh Lidder, who was among the 13 people who died in the military helicopter crash in Tamil Nadu's Coonoor, were performed with full military honours at Brar Square crematorium in Delhi Cantonment on Friday.

An IAF chopper crash near Tamil Nadu's Coonoor on Wednesday claimed the lives of 13 people including CDS Rawat and his wife Madhulika Rawat.

Also Read | Tamil Nadu IAF helicopter crash: Lone survivor IAF Group Captain ‘on life support’

Defence Minister Rajnath Singh and Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar were present at the last rites of the Brigadier Lidder.

Also Read | Tamil Nadu IAF Helicopter crash: Flight Data Recorder, Cockpit Voice Recorder ‘recovered’

The wife and daughter of the defence advisor of the CDS broke down while paying their last respects to him.

Mournful visuals showed Brigadier's wife in tears kneeling by the head of her husband's coffin, which was draped with the national flag and decked with flowers.

Brigadier's daughter was by her mother's side, fighting back tears of her own while paying her last respects to her father.


The three service chiefs - Army Chief General MM Naravane, Navy Chief Admiral R Hari Kumar and IAF chief Air Chief Marshal VR Chaudhari too paid their tribute to Brig LS Lidder.

The Army said the mortal remains of only three persons -- General Rawat, his wife Madhulika Rawat and Brigadier Lidder -- had been positively identified so far.

Other 10 defence forces personnel who died in the chopper crash are Staff Officer Lieutenant Colonel Harjinder Singh, Wing Commander Prithvi Singh Chauhan, Squadron Leader Kuldeep Singh, Junior Warrant Officer Rana Pratap Das, Junior Warrant Officer Arakkal Pradeep, Havildar Satpal Rai, Naik Gursewak Singh, Naik Jitendra Kumar, Lance Naik Vivek Kumar and Lance Naik B Sai Teja.

-PTC News

  • Share