Mallikarjun Kharge becomes Congress' first non-Gandhi chief in two decades

By Jasleen Kaur -- October 19th 2022 01:54 PM -- Updated: October 19th 2022 02:09 PM

New Delhi, October 19: Mallikarjun Kharge has become new Congress president, thereby becoming the first non-Gandhi chief of the party in over two decades. He defeated Shashi Tharoor in the Congress  president elections which was held on Monday. He will replace interim Congress president Sonia Gandhi.

Mallikarjun Kharge Kharge polled over 7,000 votes while his opponent Shashi Tharoor got nearly 1,000.

"Mallikarjun Kharge wins the Congress presidential elections with 7,897 votes, Shashi Tharoor got about 1,000 votes. Kharge has won with 8 times more votes," Pramod Tiwari said. Shashi Tharoor, who was pitted against Kharge conceded his defeat and wished the veteran leader "all success."

Also Read | Dharna outside Ferozepur's Malbros: HC directs Punjab to deposit Rs 5 crore in 1 week

After the results for the Congress president elections were announced, Shashi Tharoor issued a statement congratulating Congress President-elect Mallikarjun Kharge. "I believe the revival of our party has truly begun today," he added.

"It is a great honour & a huge responsibility to be President of @INCIndia &I wish @Kharge

ji all success in that task. It was a privilege to have received the support of over a thousand colleagues,& to carry the hopes& aspirations of so many well-wishers of Congress across India." Tharoor tweeted.

More than 9,500 delegates cast their votes in the presidential election which took place at the culmination of the party's organisational elections.

As per Congress sources, the elected president will take charge after Diwali in the presence of senior leaders in a programme at the Congress headquarters.

Also Read | CM's Verka plant visit: Dairy farmers wearing black turbans not allowed to attend Bhagwant Mann's event in Ludhiana

-PTC News With ANI inputs 

  • Share