Wed, Jul 17, 2024

Siddaramaiah sworn in as new Karnataka Chief Minister

Reported by:  PTC News Desk  Edited by:  Shgun S -- May 20th 2023 09:08 AM -- Updated: May 20th 2023 12:55 PM
Siddaramaiah sworn in as new Karnataka Chief Minister

Siddaramaiah sworn in as new Karnataka Chief Minister

Bengaluru (Karnataka), May 20: Congress veteran Siddharamaiah took oath as the Chief Minister of Karnataka on Saturday afternoon. DK Shivakumar has been sworn in as the Deputy chief minister of Karnataka at the mega ceremony in Bengaluru.

Governor Thaawarchand Gehlot administered the oath of office and secrecy to the CM.

Following days of discussion, Congress general secretary (organisation) KC Venugopal announced at the party headquarters in the national capital on Thursday that party leader Siddaramaiah will be the next Karnataka Chief Minister and DK Shivakumar will be the Deputy Chief Minister.

Congress invited several leaders from opposing parties to the occasion.

The ceremony was attended by National Conference President Farooq Abdullah and NCP President Sharad Pawar.

Bihar CM Nitish Kumar, Chhattisgarh CM Bhupesh Baghel, Himachal Pradesh CM Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu, and Bihar Deputy CM Tejashwi Yadav also attend the swearing-in ceremony in Bengaluru.

On Friday evening, Congress leaders Siddaramaiah and DK Shivakumar met with Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi Vadra ahead of the oath-taking ceremony in Karnataka.

"We have come to meet our leaders, Rahul Ji, Sonia Ji, Priyanka Ji, and Kharge Ji to invite our leaders for tomorrow. They had come and given their sweat and proper directions. So, I wanted to invite them personally. Later, we are discussing the cabinet formation," Shivakumar said.

Also Read | Reserve Bank of India to withdraw Rs 2,000 currency notes from circulation; know details


Top News view more...

Latest News view more...